Governor General of Canada

Governor General of Canada

November 17, 2014 13:42 ET

Media Advisory: Governor General to Award the Massey Medal

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwired - Nov. 17, 2014) - His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada and patron of the Royal Canadian Geographical Society (RCGS), will award the Massey Medal during the RCGS Awards Ceremony, on Wednesday, November 19, 2014, at 5 p.m. The event will take place at the Canada Aviation and Space Museum, in Ottawa, as the Canadian Space Agency celebrates its 25th anniversary.

On this occasion, the 2012 Massey Medal will be presented to Dr. Graeme Wynn, a world-renowned historical geographer and environmental historian. Over his nearly 40-year career, Dr. Wynn has contributed to the study of forest exploitation, conservation and management; of the histories of migration and settlement; and of the intersections of environment and empire. He works as a professor at the University of British Columbia, where he has served as the associate dean for arts and as the head of the Department of Geography.

During this ceremony, the Governor General will also congratulate recipients of the following awards: the Canadian Polar Commission's Northern Science Award; the Innovation in Geography Teaching Award; the 3M Environmental Innovation Award; the Martin Bergmann Medal; the Sir Christopher Ondaatje Medal for Exploration; the Camsell Medal; the Lawrence J. Burpee Medal; and the Gold Medal.

The 2014 Massey Medal was presented last May in Calgary to Dr. Derald Smith by His Honour Colonel (Retired) the Honourable Donald S. Ethell, Lieutenant Governor of Alberta. A University of Calgary geographer, Dr. Smith was recognized for his exploration and explanation of Canadian landscapes. He was known for his pioneering work on ground-penetrating radar, a geophysical technique used in oil and gas exploration in Alberta that minimized the environmental footprint of deep oil extraction sites. Sadly, Dr. Smith passed away on June 18, 2014.

About the Massey Medal

Each year, the Massey Medal is awarded in recognition of outstanding career achievement in the exploration, development or description of the geography of Canada. Awarded for the first time in 1959 by then-Governor General Vincent Massey, the medal is administered by the RSGC. For more information on the Massey Medal and other RSGC awards, please visit

Follow GGDavidJohnston and RideauHall on Facebook and Twitter.

Contact Information