Governor General of Canada

Governor General of Canada

December 08, 2011 11:45 ET

Media Advisory: Governor General to Present Canadian History Awards

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Dec. 8, 2011) - His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, will honour teachers, along with other outstanding Canadians, for furthering an interest in and understanding of Canadian history and heritage, at the Governor General's History Awards ceremony, being held at Rideau Hall, on Monday, December 12, 2011, at 10 a.m.

The 11 Governor General's History Awards honour exceptional achievements in five areas: academic research, museums, community programming, teaching, and popular history.

The Governor General's History Awards for Excellence in Teaching:

  • Raymond Bédard - École d'éducation internationale de McMasterville,
    McMasterville, Quebec
  • Sarah Beech and Chad Howie - Valley Creek Middle School, Calgary, Alberta
  • Shantelle Browning-Morgan - Walkerville Collegiate Institute, Windsor, Ontario
  • Sylvia Smith - Elizabeth Wyn Wood Alternate High School Program, Ottawa, Ontario
  • Andrew Stickings -Grosvenor Wentworth Park School, Halifax, Nova Scotia
  • Flora Fung - Oshawa Central Collegiate, Oshawa, Ontario

The Governor General's History Award for Scholarly Research (Sir John A. MacDonald Prize):

  • Michel Ducharme - Le concept de liberté au Canada à l'époque des Révolutions atlantiques (1776-1838)

The Governor General's History Award for Popular History (Pierre Berton Award 2011):

  • Guylaine Maroist and Eric Ruel - J'ai la mémoire qui tourne

For the first time this year, three new awards will be presented during the ceremony:

The Governor General's History Award for Excellence in Museums - History Alive!

  • Montréal Science Centre - All Hands to Combat! Life in the Old Port of Montreal, 1939-1945 (A Virtual Exhibition)
    Carole Pauzé and Cybèle Robichaud

The Governor General's History Awards for Excellence in Community Programming:

  • Société d'histoire de Saint-Basile-Le-Grand - Les Grands Basilois
    Richard Pelletier
  • St. Joseph and Area Historical Society - Narcisse
    Joan Karstens and Pat Rowe

In addition, six national student awards will be presented to the following individuals:

Kayak Kids' Illustrated History Challenge:

  • Emilya Snow, Kingston, Nova Scotia
  • Divya Santhanham, Mississauga, Ontario

The Begbie Canadian History Contest:

  • Jeffrey Tso, Burnaby, British Columbia
  • Eden Nzeyimana, Port Coquitlam, British Columbia

Great Canadian Questions Essay Competition:

  • Matthew Piva, Vancouver, British Columbia
  • Caroline Beaulieu, Rouyn-Noranda, Quebec

For more information on these awards, visit

About the Governor General's History Awards

The Governor General's History Awards were first established in 1996, by Canada's National History Society, to recognize excellence in teaching Canadian history. Since the creation of the awards, over 100 teachers have been honoured at Rideau Hall and at the Residence of the Governor General at the Citadelle of Québec. In partnership with Canada's leading national history organizations, including the Begbie Society, the Canadian Historical Association, the Canadian Museums Association, and the Historica-Dominion Institute, the Society has worked to expand the awards to recognize the many different ways history is taught, communicated and celebrated by Canadians. The Governor Generals History Awards now provide an annual opportunity to bring together museums, community organizations, writers, historians, students, teachers and media producers to celebrate Canadian history and to learn from one another.

Follow GGDavidJohnston and RideauHall on Facebook and Twitter

Contact Information