Canadian Space Agency

Canadian Space Agency

May 06, 2009 07:00 ET

Media Advisory: NASA Space Station Officials to Preview Start of Six-Person Crew on ISS

LONGUEUIL, QUEBEC--(Marketwire - May 6, 2009) - NASA will discuss the inauguration of six-person crew (including Canadian astronaut Robert Thirsk) operations aboard the International Space Station (ISS) in a briefing scheduled for 2 p.m. EDT Wednesday, May 6, at the Johnson Space Center (JSC).

The briefing will be broadcast live on NASA Television. Canadian media representatives that are interested in having an interview with a Canadian Space Agency official should contact Media Relations at 450.926.4370.

On May 27, Canadian Space Agency astronaut Robert Thirsk, European Space Agency astronaut Frank De Winne and Russian cosmonaut Roman Romanenko will launch on a Soyuz spacecraft from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan. They will arrive to the station on May 29 to join the station's Commander Gennady Padalka and Flight Engineers Mike Barratt and Koichi Wakata of the Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency. The six men will form the Expedition 20 crew, the station's first six-person crew. This mission also will be the first time the crew members represent all five International Space Station partners.

WHEN: May 6, 2009

HOUR: 2 p.m. EDT

WHAT: - NASA Press Conference from JSC
- CSA official available for interviews

WHO: Kirk Shireman, NASA ISS Program deputy manager
Ben Pawlik, NASA Expedition 20 increment manager
Courtenay McMillan, NASA Expedition 20 lead flight

Edward Tabarah CSA Deputy Chief, Astronaut Office


For NASA TV streaming video, downlink and scheduling information, visit:

For details on the mission, visit the Canadian Space Agency's website at:

Video, animations and pictures are available at this address:

Contact Information