Government of Canada

Government of Canada

February 24, 2009 10:45 ET

Media Advisory: NSERC Prize for Canadian Researchers who are Helping Grain Farmers Reduce Spoilage

WINNIPEG, MANITOBA--(Marketwire - Feb. 24, 2009) - Dr. Suzanne Fortier, President of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC), will present Dr. Digvir S. Jayas and Dr. Noel White with the 2008 Brockhouse Canada Prize for Interdisciplinary Research in Science and Engineering at the University of Manitoba and a research grant for $250,000.

Date: Wednesday, February 25, 2009

Time: 5:00 p.m. (CST)

Location: The University Club
26 MacLean Crescent
University of Manitoba
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Named after Dr. Bertram Brockhouse, the Canadian Prairie-born Nobel Laureate, the Prize honours teams of researchers that combine different disciplines to produce achievements of international scientific or engineering significance.

Contact Information

  • To arrange interviews :
    Frank Nolan
    Communications and Promotion Officer
    204-984-6301 / Cell: 204-228-0182