SOURCE: Nova Scotia Teachers Union

May 25, 2016 08:00 ET

Media Advisory -- NSTU Members Vote for New President

HALIFAX, NS--(Marketwired - May 25, 2016) -  An election by universal suffrage for the next President of the Nova Scotia Teachers Union will take place today, Wednesday, May 25. Voting by the 10,300 members of the NSTU will be conducted electronically. Polls opened at 6:00 a.m. and close at 8:00 p.m.

Under the Teachers' Collective Bargaining Act, all NSTU members employed on the designated voting day are eligible to vote, including members on educational or deferred salary leave, or active reserve members. Substitute teachers and auxiliary members employed on election day are also eligible to vote on voting day.

Six NSTU members are running for the two-year position as NSTU president: Liette Doucet, Wally Fiander, Damian Hall, Shawn Hanifen, Cyril MacGillivray and Paul Wozney. The new president's two-year term will begin on August 1, 2016.

The NSTU will announce the results of the vote this evening by 9:00 p.m., barring any unforeseen technical issues.

Note to editors/reporters:
A run-off vote between the top two candidates is scheduled for Thursday, June 2, if necessary. To become president of the NSTU, a candidate must win with a majority of votes (50 per cent + 1).

Contact Information