SOURCE: Nova Scotia Teachers Union

Nova Scotia Teachers Union

June 02, 2016 07:00 ET

Media Advisory - NSTU Members Vote for New President in Second Ballot

HALIFAX, NS --(Marketwired - June 02, 2016) - Public school teachers, Nova Scotia Community College faculty and professional support staff, and NSTU members working for the Atlantic Provinces' Special Education Authority are voting in a run-off election today for the presidency of the Nova Scotia Teachers Union. Voting by the 10,300 members of the NSTU is being conducted electronically. Polls opened at 6:00 a.m. and will close at 8:00 p.m.

Under the Teachers' Collective Bargaining Act, all NSTU members employed on the designated voting day are eligible to vote, including members on educational or deferred salary leave, or active reserve members. Substitute teachers and auxiliary members employed on election day are also eligible to vote on voting day.

Liette Doucet and Wally Fiander are candidates for the second ballot. To become president of the NSTU, a candidate must win with a majority of votes (50 per cent + 1).

Four other NSTU members -- Damian Hall, Shawn Hanifen, Cyril MacGillivray, and Paul Wozney, who were on the first ballot on May 25 -- were dropped from the slate.

The NSTU will announce the results of the vote this evening by 9:00 p.m., barring any unforeseen technical issues.

Contact Information