OSSTF/FEESO - Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation

OSSTF/FEESO - Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation

March 06, 2014 10:22 ET

Media Advisory: OSSTF/FEESO Student Achievement Awards 2014

TORONTO, ONTARIO--(Marketwired - March 6, 2014) - On Saturday March 8, at 1:30 p.m. at the annual meeting of the Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation (OSSTF/FEESO), students from across Ontario will be honoured for their outstanding abilities and creativity as provincial winners of the Student Achievement Awards in honour of Marion Drysdale.

For over twenty-five years, the Student Achievement Awards have been one of Ontario's most prestigious awards celebrating the artistic and academic creations of students in public high schools. Any Ontario public high school student may enter work into one of eight categories and submissions are judged on school, district, regional and provincial levels. The eight provincial winners are brought to Toronto to receive their awards at the OSSTF/FEESO annual general meeting and they are featured in a twenty minute video. Each provincial winner also receives a cash award of $1,000.

This year's theme, You cannot lock up an idea from Tommy Douglas' Mouseland speech proved to be inspirational to students across the province.

OSSTF/FEESO President Paul Elliott will present awards to the following:

Prose and Poetry Division
Category A1 - Intermediate, 9-10 Academic
Georgiana Kourkopoulos, Colonel By Secondary School, District 25, Ottawa-Carleton
Category A2 - Intermediate, 9-10 Applied/Essential
Conor James Arbeau, Centre Dufferin DHS, District 18, Upper Grand
Category A3 - Senior, 11-12 University
Clara Columbus, Loyalist CVI, District 27, Limestone
Category A4 - Senior, 11-12 College/ Workplace
Ty Dickson, Glenview Park Secondary School, District 24, Waterloo
Category A5 - French
Janna Hunt, Confederation Secondary School, District 3, Rainbow
Creative Division
Category B1 - Visual Arts, Intermediate, 9-10
Daniel Ding, Markham District High School, District 16, York Region
Category B2 - Visual Arts, Senior, 11-12
Phoebe Thompson, John F. Ross CVI, District 18, Upper Grand
Category B3 - Digital Arts, 9-12
Quincey Turnbull, Fort Erie Secondary School, District 22, Niagara


The Student Achievement Awards ceremony features a professionally produced twenty minute video about the students and their winning submissions. This video will be distributed on request for broadcast approximately one week after the ceremony. Please contact the OSSTF/FEESO provincial office to arrange delivery.

OSSTF/FEESO, founded in 1919, has 60,000 members across Ontario. They include public high school teachers, occasional teachers, educational assistants, continuing education teachers and instructors, early childhood educators, psychologists, secretaries, speech-language pathologists, social workers, plant support personnel, university support staff, and many others in education.

Contact Information

  • Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation
    Randy Banderob
    Executive Assistant
    416.432.3304 or after March 10 at 416.751.8300