Governor General of Canada

Governor General of Canada

September 11, 2012 13:00 ET

Media Advisory: Presentation of Credentials at Rideau Hall

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Sept. 11, 2012) - His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, will receive the credentials of six ambassadors and four high commissioners on Thursday, September 13, 2012, at 9:30 a.m., at Rideau Hall.

Her Excellency Sidibé Fadjimata
Ambassador-designate of the Republic of Niger
His Excellency Mohammed Saif Helal AlShehhi
Ambassador-designate of the United Arab Emirates
His Excellency Cho Hee-yong
Ambassador-designate of the Republic of Korea
His Excellency Ojo Uma Maduekwe
High Commissioner-designate for the Federal Republic of Nigeria
His Excellency Samuel Valis-Akyianu
High Commissioner-designate for the Republic of Ghana
His Excellency Vytautas Žalys
Ambassador-designate for the Republic of Lithuania
His Excellency Membathisi Mphumzi Shepherd Mdladlana
High Commissioner-designate for the Republic of South Africa
His Excellency Kaarlo (Charles) Murto
Ambassador-designate of the Republic of Finland
His Excellency Werner Franz Wnendt
Ambassador-designate of the Federal Republic of Germany
His Excellency His Excellency Kamrul Ahsan
High Commissioner-designate for the People's Republic of Bangladesh

Upon their arrival in Canada, and before they can carry out their duties as heads of mission, new ambassadors, as well as new high commissioners of countries for which Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II is not head of State, must be officially welcomed by the governor general of Canada. High commissioners representing countries for which The Queen is the head of State are formally introduced to the prime minister of Canada.

Credentials are the official documents by which new heads of diplomatic missions are presented by their head of State as their official representative. Currently, there are more than 140 heads of diplomatic missions accredited to Canada.

Media covering the ceremony must contact the Rideau Hall Press Office, and must arrive at the Princess Anne entrance no later than 9:15 a.m. on the day of the ceremony.

Follow GGDavidJohnston and RideauHall on Facebook and Twitter

Contact Information