Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment

Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment

October 19, 2010 08:30 ET

Media Advisory-Reminder: Environment Ministers to Meet in St. John's

WINNIPEG, MANITOBA--(Marketwire - Oct. 19, 2010) - The Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment (CCME) will meet in St. John's NL on October 20 to discuss a range of issues including air quality and water.

The Council is made up of environment ministers from each of the provinces, territories and the Government of Canada. The current president of CCME, Hon. Charlene Johnson, Newfoundland and Labrador's Minister of Environment and Conservation, will chair the meeting, which will be held in Salon A & B on the main level of the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, 115 Cavendish Square, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador.

There will be a photo opportunity for members of the media at 3:00 pm NDT (1:30 pm EDT). At the close of the meeting the Council will issue a communiqué and hold a news conference on Wednesday October 20, 2010 at 3:30 pm NDT (2:00 pm EDT). 

Reporters outside of St. John's can join the news conference via conference call. To register for the teleconference, please contact Melony O'Neill at (709) 729-2575 ( Please confirm your participation by noon EDT, October 20, 2010.

Further details on CCME are available at

(Également offert en français)

Contact Information

  • CCME Secretariat
    Michael Goeres
    Executive Director
    (204) 948-2172
    NL Department of Environment and Conservation
    Melony O'Neill
    Director of Communications
    (709) 729-2575