Canada Foundation for Innovation

Canada Foundation for Innovation
Canada Research Chairs

Canada Research Chairs

June 10, 2008 12:43 ET

Media Advisory/REMINDER: The Government of Canada Invests in 127 Canada Research Chairs Recipients

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - June 10, 2008) - Today, the Honourable John Baird, Minister of the Environment, on behalf of the Honourable Jim Prentice, Minister of Industry and Minister responsible for the Canada Research Chairs Program, will announce the latest round of Canada Research Chair recipients. The scientists and scholars who hold these prestigious faculty positions at universities across Canada are world leaders in many vital areas of research.

DATE: Tuesday June 10th, 2008

TIME: 1:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.

PLACE: University of Ottawa
Gendron Hall, 30 Marie-Curie, Ottawa

SPEAKERS: The Honourable John Baird, Minister of the Environment

Gilles G. Patry, President and Vice-Chancellor
University of Ottawa

Chad Gaffield, President
Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada

Jac van Beek, Vice-President, Programs and Planning
Canada Foundation for Innovation

Mary Cheng, Canada Research Chair in the Genetics of Biological
University of Ottawa

Note to editors: The Canada Research Chairs Program is designed to attract the best talent from Canada and around the world, helping universities achieve research excellence in natural sciences and engineering, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities. Chairholders improve our depth of knowledge and quality of life, strengthen Canada's international competitiveness, and help train the next generation of highly skilled people. For information on the research of each of the 1,855 chairholders, visit

The Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI) is an independent corporation created by the Government of Canada to fund research infrastructure. The CFI's mandate is to strengthen the capacity of Canadian universities, colleges, research hospitals, and non-profit research institutions to carry out world-class research and technology development that benefits Canadians. For a complete listing of CFI contributions, visit

Contact Information

  • Canada Research Chairs Program
    Marie Lugli
    Media Relations Advisor
    Cell: 613-371-3783
    Office of the Honourable Jim Prentice
    Minister of Industry
    Deirdra McCracken
    Press Secretary
    University of Ottawa
    Office of the V-P Research
    Jean-Francois Belleau
    Director of Communications
    Canada Foundation for Innovation
    Yves Melanson
    Coordinator, Media Relations
    Cell: 613-447-1723