BC Civil Liberties Association

BC Civil Liberties Association

October 21, 2013 08:00 ET

Media Advisory: SPYING: Civil Liberties Watchdog to Make Major Announcement on Canada's Spying Practices

VANCOUVER, BRITISH COLUMBIA--(Marketwired - Oct. 21, 2013) -

Attention News Editors:

National and local media are invited to a press conference hosted by the BC Civil Liberties Association (BCCLA), joined by OpenMedia.ca, in downtown Vancouver, tomorrow (Oct. 22).

What: The BCCLA legal team will make a significant announcement in relation to Canada's spying practices and the actions of the Communications Security Establishment Canada (CSEC).

When: Tuesday, October 22, 2013 at 9:00 am Pacific/12:00 noon Eastern

Where: YWCA Canfor/Royal Bank Meeting Room, ground floor, 730 Beatty Street, Vancouver

Conference call for out-of-Vancouver and national reporters: dial-in number: (416) 644-9541 Access code: 345-050-4105. Please call in at 8:50am Pacific/11:50am Eastern to be connected.

BCCLA is partnering on this important announcement with OpenMedia.ca -- Canada's largest civic engagement organization that works to ensure the Internet is open, affordable and surveillance-free.

Français: Commentaires en français seront disponibles à la conférence de presse.

Contact Information