Veterans Affairs Canada

Veterans Affairs Canada

August 08, 2008 18:09 ET

Media Advisory: Veterans Affairs Honours Thirteen Outstanding Canadians

ALBERTA, CALGARY--(Marketwire - Aug. 8, 2008) - Rob Anders, Member of Parliament for Calgary West, on behalf of the Honourable Greg Thompson, Minister of Veterans Affairs, will present thirteen citizens of Alberta, Saskatchewan and British Columbia with the Minister of Veterans Affairs Commendation in recognition of their devotion to Veterans.

The recipients are: John Cresswell of Calgary, Alberta
Valeria Ferguson of Edmonton, Alberta
Tom Hradec of Calgary, Alberta
John Kolanchey of Morinville, Alberta
Ellen Morrell of Calgary, Alberta
Elmer Schauer of Rimby, Alberta
Roland Soper of Calgary, Alberta
Bill Wilson of Calgary, Alberta
Elsley Foulds of Coquitlam, British Columbia
Ruth Bond-Martinson of Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Kenneth Garbutt of Regina, Saskatchewan
Lloyd Jones of Regina, Saskatchewan
Gordon Wilson of Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Where: Alberta Room, Fairmont Palliser, 133-9th Avenue, S.W.
When: Monday, August 11, 2008
Time: 11:00 a.m.

The commendation is presented to individuals who have contributed to the care and well-being of Veterans and to the remembrance of their contributions, sacrifices and achievements. It is intended primarily for Veterans, but in some circumstances may also be awarded to non-Veterans. Nominations may be submitted by the public at any time and are reviewed annually by an advisory committee.

Contact Information

  • Veterans Affairs Canada
    Heather MacDonald
    Acting Media Relations Advisor
    Office of the Minister of Veterans Affairs
    Richard Roik
    Director of Communications