Veterans Affairs Canada

Veterans Affairs Canada

May 14, 2008 12:32 ET

Media Advisory: Veterans Affairs Minister Honours Citizens of Ontario

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - May 14, 2008) - The Honourable Greg Thompson will present 16 citizens of Ontario with the Minister of Veterans Affairs Commendation in recognition of their devotion to Veterans.
The recipients are:

John (Rae) Abernethy, Bowmanville
William Bettridge, Brampton
William Burrell, Brampton
Frank Caldwell, Hamilton (posthumous)
William Eisan, Hamilton
Arthur Fyles, Toronto
Hilda Harris, Toronto
Jack Hetherington, London
Gordon Leech, Barrie
Robert McNeilly, Georgetown
Bruce Melanson, Etobicoke
Carl Arthur Mills, Toronto
Ernest Nadjiwan, Wiarton
David K. Robinson, Seagrave
Reverend L. Darrell B. Shaule, Lucan
William A. Webster, London

Where: Walper Terrace Hotel
Kitchener, Ontario

When: Friday, May 16, 2008

Time: 11:00 a.m.

The Commendation is presented to individuals who have contributed to the care and well-being of Veterans and to the remembrance of their contributions, sacrifices and achievements. It is intended primarily for Veterans, but in some circumstances may also be awarded to non-Veterans. Nominations may be submitted by the public at any time and are reviewed annually by an advisory committee.

Contact Information

  • Veterans Affairs Canada
    Janice Summerby
    Media Relations Advisor
    Office of the Minister of Veterans Affairs
    Richard Roik
    Director of Communications