SOURCE: MetaMetrics, Inc.

MetaMetrics, Inc.

September 25, 2013 10:43 ET

MetaMetrics Partners With New Publishers to Provide Lexile Measures

Another Record-Breaking Quarter Welcomes 24 New Publishing Partners Now Using Popular Reading Metric

DURHAM, NC--(Marketwired - Sep 25, 2013) -  MetaMetrics®, developer of the widely adopted Lexile® Framework for Reading, is pleased to announce that, in the second quarter of 2013, 24 new publishing partners have signed on to provide Lexile® measures for their content. A Lexile measure offers valuable information regarding text complexity that helps readers select reading materials based on their unique reading ability and goals. MetaMetrics welcomes the following publishers:

U.S. Book Publishers:
Avra Wing, Author (www.avrawing.com)
B. E. Publishing (www.bepublishing.com)
Blue Marlin Publications (www.bluemarlinpubs.com)
BrambleKids (www.bramblekids.com)
Catapult Learning, LLC (www.catapultlearning.com)
Character Publishing (characterpublishing.org)
Children's Success Unlimited, LLC (blueoceanbob.com)
Kalyani Navyug Media / Campfire Graphic Novels (campfire.co.in)
K. D. Rausin, Author (kdrausin.com)
Me and Thee Studios (meandtheestudios.com)
Pacific Learning (www.pacificlearning.com)
PageSpring Publishing (pagespringpublishing.com)
Pajama Press (www.pajamapress.ca)
Ribbonhead (www.ribbonhead.com)
Ronin Publishing Inc. (www.roninpub.com)
Sangari Active Science (SASC) (sangariglobaled.com)
Santillana USA (Spanish) (www.santillanausa.com)
Shelley Gill, Author (shelleygill.com)
Soho Press (www.sohopress.com)
Tara Books (www.tarabooks.com)
The American Heritage Publishing Company (www.americanheritage.com)
The History Press (historypress.net)
Wahida Clark Publishing (www.wclarkpublishing.com)
Web of Life Children's Books (www.weboflifebooks.com)

A text receives a Lexile measure when MetaMetrics analyzes the complete text using proprietary software that evaluates its semantic and syntactic dimensions. Lexile measures range from below 200L for early reader text to above 1600L for more advanced text. Books that have been assigned Lexile measures are available in MetaMetrics' free "Find a Book" search tool, which allows readers to build custom book lists and locate their selections at the local public library. "Find a Book" includes more than 150,000 literary and informational books from hundreds of publishers.

"We are thrilled to welcome 24 new publishing companies into the Lexile family," stated Malbert Smith, Ph.D., president and co-founder of MetaMetrics. "In this year's first two quarters alone, we've already partnered with more publishers than in all of 2010. It's encouraging to see so many distinguished educational publishers recognize the unique value of the Lexile Framework."

The Lexile Framework is a unique tool for accurately matching readers with text. Unlike other measurement systems, the Lexile Framework evaluates reading ability and growth based on actual assessment results, rather than generalized age or grade levels. Lexile measures help teachers, librarians and parents find books, articles and other resources within a reader's recommended Lexile range: 100L below to 50L above his or her Lexile measure.

Recognized as the standard for matching readers with texts, tens of millions of students worldwide receive a Lexile measure that helps them find targeted readings from more than 100 million articles, books and websites that have been measured. For more information on the Lexile Framework and Lexile measures, visit www.Lexile.com.

For more information on the Lexile text measurement process, contact Emily Weller, Strategic Partnerships Manager, at eweller@Lexile.com or 919-547-3452.

About MetaMetrics
MetaMetrics is focused on improving education for learners of all ages and ability levels. The organization develops scientific measures of academic achievement and complementary technologies that link assessment results with real-world instruction. MetaMetrics' products and services for reading (The Lexile® Framework for Reading, El Sistema Lexile para Leer), mathematics (The Quantile® Framework for Mathematics), and writing (The Lexile Framework for Writing) provide unique insights about academic ability and the potential for growth, enabling individuals to achieve their goals at every stage of development. Connect with the organization at: http://blog.lexile.com.

Contact Information

  • For more information:
    Elizabeth Lattanzio
    919-354-3482
    Email Contact