SOURCE: MetaMetrics, Inc.

MetaMetrics, Inc.

June 26, 2013 10:06 ET

MetaMetrics Partners With New Publishers to Provide Lexile Measures Across the Globe

Popular Reading Metric Helps Individuals Pick the Right Texts for Improving Reading Skills

DURHAM, NC--(Marketwired - Jun 26, 2013) - MetaMetrics®, developer of the widely adopted Lexile® Framework for Reading, is pleased to announce that, in the first quarter of 2013, 18 new publishing partners have signed on to provide Lexile® measures for their content. A Lexile measure offers valuable information regarding text complexity that helps readers select reading materials based on their unique reading ability and goals. MetaMetrics welcomes the following publishers:

U.S. Publishers
August House (www.augusthouse.com)
Barron's Educational Series (www.barronseduc.com)
Bish Bash Books (bishbashbooks.com)
Craigmore Creations (www.craigmorecreations.com)
ePALs (www.epals.com)
Flyleaf Publishing (www.flyleafpublishing.com)
Islandport Press (www.islandportpress.com)
Iversen Publishing (www.iversenpublishing.com)
M&M Book Publishing Co. (www.gmarklafrancis.com)
Neptune Press (www.neptunepress.org)
Oklahoma History Press (www.oklahomaadventure.com)
Reading Plus (www.readingplus.com)
Sleek-Geek (sleek-geek.net
Teach. Learn. Beyond. (www.kionnawalkerlemalle.com)
Townsend Press (www.townsendpress.com)
Writesteps Writing (writestepswriting.com)

International Publishers
Barrington Stoke UK (www.barringtonstoke.co.uk)
SAE International (www.sae.org)

A text receives a Lexile measure when MetaMetrics analyzes the complete text using propriety software that evaluates its various dimensions. Lexile measures range from below 200L for emergent-reader text to above 1600L for more advanced text. Books that have been assigned Lexile measures are available in MetaMetrics' free "Find a Book" search tool, which allows readers to build custom book lists and locate their selections at the local public library. "Find a Book" includes more than 150,000 literary and informational books from more than 200 publishers.

"We are delighted that the number of publishing companies using Lexile measures continues to grow," stated Malbert Smith, Ph.D., president and co-founder of MetaMetrics. "More and more publishers are recognizing the unique value that Lexile measures offer in evaluating text complexity. Understanding and measuring text complexity is important to educators and families as they focus on postsecondary reading demands to help children prepare for success in college and careers."

The Lexile Framework is a unique tool for accurately matching readers with text. Unlike other measurement systems, the Lexile Framework evaluates reading ability and growth based on actual assessment results, rather than generalized age or grade levels. Lexile measures help teachers, librarians and parents find books, articles and other resources within a reader's recommended Lexile range: 100L below to 50L above his or her Lexile measure. Reading materials within this optimal Lexile range will challenge the individual's reading ability, while still maintaining interest and learning.

Recognized as the standard for matching readers with texts, tens of millions of students worldwide receive a Lexile measure that helps them find targeted readings from more than 100 million articles, books and websites that have been measured. For more information on the Lexile Framework and Lexile measures, visit www.Lexile.com.

For more information on the Lexile text measurement process, contact Emily Weller, Strategic Partnerships Manager, at eweller@Lexile.com or 919-547-3452.

About MetaMetrics
MetaMetrics is focused on improving education for learners of all ages and ability levels. The organization develops scientific measures of academic achievement and complementary technologies that link assessment results with real-world instruction. MetaMetrics' products and services for reading (The Lexile® Framework for Reading, El Sistema Lexile para Leer), mathematics (The Quantile® Framework for Mathematics), and writing (The Lexile Framework for Writing) provide unique insights about academic ability and the potential for growth, enabling individuals to achieve their goals at every stage of development. Connect with the organization at: http://blog.lexile.com.

Contact Information

  • For more information:
    Elizabeth Lattanzio
    919-354-3482
    Email Contact