SOURCE: MetaMetrics

MetaMetrics

November 19, 2013 09:00 ET

MetaMetrics Welcomes Over Thirty New Content Providers Worldwide

Third Quarter of 2013 Yields Record Number of Content Providers Adopting Lexile Measures

DURHAM, NC--(Marketwired - Nov 19, 2013) -  MetaMetrics®, developer of the widely adopted Lexile® Framework for Reading, is pleased to announce that 39 new content providers have signed on to provide Lexile® measures for their texts. Content providers include book publishers, authors, textbooks and reading programs. The quarter also witnessed a notable increase in international publishing partners. A Lexile measure offers valuable information regarding text complexity that helps readers select reading materials based on their unique reading ability and goals. MetaMetrics welcomes the following content providers:

Book Publishers
Sterling (www.sterlingpub.com)
RiverStream Publishing (www.riverstreampublishing.net)
BenBella Books (www.benbellabooks.com)
QED Publishing (www.qed-publishing.co.uk)
WH Sadlier (www.sadlier.com)
Reflections Publishing (www.reflectionspublishing.com)
Teaching Matters (www.teachingmatters.org)
Red Lemon Press (redlemonpress.com)
Harmony Ink Press (harmonyinkpress.com)
Evolved Publishing (evolvedpub.com)
Butterfly Heart Books (www.butterflyheartbooks.com)
Dream Big Toy Company (www.gogosportsgirls.com)
Creston Books (marissamoss.com)
Cluttered Genius (www.clutteredgenius.com)
Booktrope (booktrope.com)
VINCI Learning by Rullingnet (www.vincieducation.com)
The Roadrunner Press (www.theroadrunnerpress.com)
Mobile Education Store (mobile-educationstore.com)

Authors
Mikey Brooks; Lost Treasure Publishing (www.insidemikeysworld.com)
Monique Bucheger; True West Publishing (moniquebucheger.blogspot.com)
Ali Cross; Novel Ninjutsu (www.novelninjutsu.com)
Elise Stokes; JACE Publishing (www.cassidyjonesadventures.com)
Linda Lee (www.lrwlee.com)
Christina Mercer (christinamercer.com)
Sharon Ledwith (www.sharonledwith.com)
Lynn Kelly (lynnkelleyauthor.com)
Michelle Isenhoff (michelleisenhoff.com)
Lisa Orchard (www.lisaorchard.com)

Textbooks
Human Kinetics (www.humankinetics.com)

Reading Programs
Lexia Learning (www.lexialearning.com)
Core Knowledge (www.coreknowledge.org)

Korean 
Key Publishing (www.keymedia.co.kr)
Gilbut (www.gilbut.co.kr)
Visangesl (www.visangesl.com)
Saramin (www.saramin.com)
Darakwon (www.darakwon.co.kr)
Happy House (www.ihappyhouse.co.kr)
Didimdol (www.didimdol.co.kr)
Caramel Tree (www.carameltree.com/www.gojls.com/index.do)

A text receives a Lexile measure when MetaMetrics analyzes the complete text using proprietary software that evaluates its various dimensions. Lexile measures range from below 200L for emergent-reader text to above 1600L for more advanced text. Books that have been assigned Lexile measures are available in MetaMetrics' free "Find a Book" search tool, which allows readers to build custom book lists and locate their selections at the local public library. "Find a Book" includes more than 150,000 literary and informational books from more than 200 publishers.

"We're excited to see so many new content providers adopting Lexile measures, both domestically and abroad," stated Jack Stenner, Ph.D., CEO and co-founder of MetaMetrics. "Targeted reading is not only relevant for American texts, but for international students wanting to improve their English language reading skills. By providing a reading metric that allows students to choose texts at their appropriate reading level, students everywhere can better stay on track with their academic and career-related goals."

The Lexile Framework is a unique tool for accurately matching readers with text. Unlike other measurement systems, the Lexile Framework evaluates reading ability and growth based on actual assessment results, rather than generalized age or grade levels. Lexile measures help teachers, librarians and parents find books, articles and other resources within a reader's recommended Lexile range: 100L below to 50L above his or her Lexile measure.

Recognized as the standard for matching readers with texts, tens of millions of students worldwide receive a Lexile measure that helps them find targeted readings from more than 100 million articles, books and websites that have been measured. For more information on the Lexile Framework and Lexile measures, visit www.Lexile.com.

For more information on the Lexile text measurement process, contact Emily Weller, Strategic Partnerships Manager, at eweller@Lexile.comor 919-547-3452.

About MetaMetrics
MetaMetrics is focused on improving education for learners of all ages and ability levels. The organization develops scientific measures of academic achievement and complementary technologies that link assessment results with real-world instruction. MetaMetrics' products and services for reading (The Lexile® Framework for Reading, El Sistema Lexile para Leer), mathematics (The Quantile® Framework for Mathematics) and writing (The Lexile Framework for Writing) provide unique insights about academic ability and the potential for growth, enabling individuals to achieve their goals at every stage of development. Connect with the organization at: http://blog.lexile.com.

Contact Information