February 25, 2007 02:21 ET

"Michael Lucas' La Dolce Vita" Sets 14-Win Record at 2007 GAYVN Awards

Inspired by the Classic Tale of Sex, Glamour and Debauchery in Manhattan's Fashion Industry, Lucas Entertainment Sweeps Show's Top Honors

SAN FRANCISCO, CA -- (MARKET WIRE) -- February 25, 2007 -- Capping an astonishing night at the Castro Theatre, "Michael Lucas' La Dolce Vita" made GAYVN history tonight with wins in 14 categories, including Best Picture, at the annual ceremony.

Though it's not unusual for individual movies to be rich in nominations, it is extremely rare for a movie to garner double-digit wins. The previous record holder, Buckshot Productions' "BuckleRoos," won 11 awards in 2005.

"Michael Lucas' La Dolce Vita" has the further distinction of winning an award in every category in which it was nominated.

In addition to Best Picture, "Michael Lucas' La Dolce Vita" was awarded trophies for Best Actor (Michael Lucas), Art Direction, Best Director (Michael Lucas and Tony Dimarco), DVD Extras/Special Edition, Editing (Frank Tyler), Marketing Campaign, Music (Nekked), Non-Sex Performance (Samantha Samson), Packaging, Screenplay (Tony Dimarco), Supporting Actor (Spencer Quest), Threesome (Jason Ridge, Michael Lucas, Derrick Hanson) and Videography (Tony Dimarco).

In the wake of the Lucas Entertainment juggernaut came Hot House Video with four wins: "Black-n-Blue" captured the Best All-Sex and Best Leather awards; Ty Hudson and Shane Rollins garnered awards for Best Oral Scene in "Justice"; and Kent North's performance in "At Your Service" took the Best Solo Performance prize.

Two of the most prestigious awards are for Best Newcomer and Performer of the Year. Matt Cole, who was nominated in both categories, was named Best Newcomer, and Titan exclusive François Sagat was voted Performer of the Year.

Paul Barresi's powerful performance as a porn-lord in Falcon Studios' "The Velvet Mafia" was awarded Best Non-Sex Performance in the evenings only tied category. Falcon also picked up the Group Scene award for the final orgy in "Spokes 3."

Once again the Best Sex Comedy award went to a Jet Set Productions movie, this year's winner, "Going Under."

Lucas Kazan's "The School for Lovers" was named Best Foreign Release and picked up a second trophy -- Best Actor - Foreign Release -- thanks to Jean Franko's performance.

The Best Sex Scene -- Duo award went to Brad Patton and Brian Hansen for their work in Buckshot Productions' "Manly Heat: Quenched." Another COLT Studio Group title to win was "MinuteMan 28" in the Best Solo Video category.

Channel 1 Releasing's two awards were for "Bi Back Mountain" (Best Bisexual Video) and "Delinquents" (Best Renting Title of 2006). Both movies were from its All Worlds Video brand and both were directed by Doug Jeffries.

The year's Best Ethnic-Themed Video award went to "The Show 1-2," a co-production of Dark Alley Media and Pitbull Productions. Raging Stallion Studios' "Manhattan" won the Best Ethnic-Themed Video -- Latin trophy.

First-time winners included "Lebanon" (Best Pro-Am Release) from new company Collin O'Neal Productions; Dink Flamingo, whose "Rear Gunners 2 (Active Duty)" took the Best Amateur Release award; and BG East, a wrestling/ fetish company, which won the Best Specialty Release award for "X Fights UK XXX."

Other specialty category winners include Titan Media's "Folsom Filth," (Extreme) Bel Ami's "Out in Africa 2" (18-23), and Pantheon Productions' "Rough & Ready (Bears)."

The documentary from Wolfe, "Gay Sex in the '70s," won in the Alternative Release category, and Gorilla Factory Productions' of Peter Berlin classic "Nights in Black Leather" was voted Best Classic DVD.

One of the nights most noted awards was given to '60s/'70s gay icon Berlin as he was inducted into the GAYVN Hall of Fame. Porn pioneers Steven Toushin and Kathryn Reed, director/studio chief Chris Ward, and performers Chase Hunter and Ray Dragon were also inducted during the award festivities.

Awards-show host, comedienne Kathy Griffin, was also presented with a trophy naming her Honorary Gay of the year.

The GAYVN Awards recognize talented individuals and the movies that have contributed to the advancement of the gay adult entertainment industry. Its broad-based, nation-wide panel of judges, predominantly gay-press-affiliated, has been awarding trophies for 21 years, making the GAYVN Awards the most respected and recognized awards in gay adult entertainment history.

For photos of this years winners, please contact Curt Flood Jr./Kelly Taylor.

Contact Information