SOURCE: California Science Center

August 26, 2011 14:13 ET

Middle School Semifinalists Named in First Broadcom MASTERS™ -- Math, Applied Science, Technology and Engineering for Rising Stars -- Competition

43 Students From the California State Science Fair Represent the Largest Group of Semifinalists Among All Participating States

LOS ANGELES, CA--(Marketwire - Aug 26, 2011) - The Broadcom Foundation and Society for Science & the Public (SSP) have announced the selection of 300 middle school students as semifinalists in its first ever Broadcom MASTERS™ (Math, Applied Science, Technology and Engineering for Rising Stars) competition. Forty-three (43) of the semifinalists were participants in the California State Science Fair held May 2-3, 2011 at the California Science Center in Los Angeles. California accounted for the highest number of semifinalists from any state for this year's competition.

Broadcom MASTERS, a national competition for 6th - 8th graders, invites students to compete for prizes and awards by entering their science project in a local SSP affiliate fair. The goal is to inspire, mentor and encourage students to stay with math and science throughout their high school years so that they will be able to pursue careers in science, math, technology and engineering. The semifinalists come from 251 middle schools across the United States with concentrations in California, Florida, Texas, Ohio and Oregon. Finalists will be announced August 31, 2011. The final round of competition will take place in Washington, D.C. September 30 - October 5, 2011.

The list of semifinalist students from the California State Science Fair includes:
Sonan Hitesh Patel - Fairmont Private School, Anaheim (Anaheim)
Aamna Jehan Abbasi - Orange Crescent School (Garden Grove)
Hari Garg - Ranch San Joaquin Middle School (Irvine)
Rae Jonah Holcomb - South Lake Middle School (Irvine)
David Charles Weaver - St. Margaret's Episcopal School (San Juan Capistrano)
Nicholas Kim Ida - Fairmont Private School, Edgewood (Santa Ana)
Daniel Jorgen Feeny - Woodside Elementary School (Woodside)
Nathan Christopher Le - Sierra Canyon Middle School (Chatsworth)
Alice Ruilin Zhai - La Cañada High School (La Cañada-Flintridge)
Ryan J. Eveloff - Ralph Waldo Emerson Middle School (Los Angeles)
Zachary Patrick Sercel - Sky Mountain Charter School (Placerville)
Glenda Chen - South Pasadena Middle School (South Pasadena)
Alexandra Nicole Vredenburgh - Pacific Ridge School (Carlsbad)
Crystal Rennae Poole - Thurgood Marshall Middle School (San Diego)
Brandon Kekoa Lim - Wangenheim Middle School (San Diego)
Maya Varma - Sam H. Lawson Middle School (Cupertino)
Priya Choudhary - Stratford Middle School (San Jose)
Anish Sehshadri - Stratford Middle School (San Jose)
Sneha Shri Bhetanabhotla - The Harker School (San Jose)
Nikash Dev Shankar - The Harker School (San Jose)
Anjini Karthik - Challenger School, Sunnyvale (Sunnyvale)
Anin Sayana - Challenger School, Sunnyvale (Sunnyvale)
Shashank H. Dholakia - Peterson Middle School (Sunnyvale)
Tanay Tandon - Peterson Middle School (Sunnyvale)
Matthew Charles VanderKlugt - Holy Rosary (Antioch)
Kapil Sinha - Buena Vista Middle School (Salinas)
Anna J. Lou - Acaciawood College Preparatory Academy (Anaheim)
Samuel Z. Lang - Valley Oaks Charter School (Bakersfield)
Nilay Sanjay Sawant - John F. Kennedy Middle School (Cupertino)
Jeremy Alexander Rafner - Adeline E. Kent Middle School (Kentfield)
Shruti Aggarwal - Medea Creek Middle School (Oak Park)
Kriti Lall - Challenger School, Middlefield (Palo Alto)
Braeden Christopher Benedict - Saint John Fisher Parish School (Rancho Palos Verdes)
Saumya Ramadugu Keremane - Earhart Middle School (Riverside)
Justin Lee Myhre - Woodcrest Christian Middle School (Riverside)
Namrata Ramya Balasingam - Challenger School, Strawberry Park (San Jose)
Nitya Mani - Joaquin Miller Middle School (San Jose)
Sriram Somasundaram - The Harker School (San Jose)
Steven Michael Wang - The Harker School (San Jose)
Hailey Caroline Loehde-Woolard - Mission Hill Middle School (Santa Cruz)
Julie Ann Fukunaga - Elkhorn Middle School (Stockton)
Isabelle Dawn de Wood - Tom Hawkins School (Tracy)
Steven Sage Higginbotham - Grace Christian School (Visalia)

Details on the competition, semifinalists and their projects can be found at and

California Science Center is located at 700 Exposition Park Drive, Los Angeles. Open daily from 10am to 5 pm, except Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year's Day. Admission to the exhibits is free. IMAX Theater tickets range from $5.00 to $8.25. Both the Science Center and IMAX Theater are wheelchair accessible. Visitors can enter the parking lot at 39th/Exposition Park Drive and Figueroa Street. Parking is $10/car. For general information, phone (323) SCIENCE or visit

Contact Information