SOURCE: Rykodisc

August 22, 2006 15:45 ET

Miho Hatori Set to Release "Ecdysis" on Rykodisc October 24th, 2006

NEW YORK, NY -- (MARKET WIRE) -- August 22, 2006 -- Miho Hatori, ex-lead chanteuse of the groundbreaking Cibo Matto, makes a triumphant return with her highly anticipated forthcoming release "Ecdysis." Available October 24, 2006 on Rykodisc, Miho Hatori is set to release her strongest and most realized work of her already notable career.

The self-produced "Ecdysis" led Miho into new realms of electronic pop and world music, blending the intimacy of her craft for storytelling with the harmonizing sound of a full jazz-oriented ensemble. Known to be a genre-hopping pop experimentalist, Miho here unveils eleven brand-new, wide-ranging songs such as the enchanting title track, "Ecdysis," the tempo-shifting, psychedelic "Barracuda," as well as the beauty ballad, "In Your Arms." Miho elegantly arranged "Sweet Samsara" with two different interpretations of the track -- Part I, a pensive piano-driven opener, and Part II, a pop thumper that morphs into an eclectic dance beat. "Ecdysis" also includes "A Song For Kids," a Japanese sing-along pop song that is so catchy you'll forget it's not in English.

"'Ecdysis' was important for me to make," Hatori says of the album. "When I went home and listened to it after the last day of mixing, the first thing I felt was: 'Wow, that's really me!' I could hear myself in the music. I could connect with my parents, because what they gave to me is a combination of everything they've ever done, and with this music I'm going into the future because of everything I've done in the past."

Miho delivers lush, melodic, and ethereal songs that pay tribute to electronic pop, world music and jazz-fusion while crafting a sound and sincerity that is all her own. Her obsession with harmony, hooks and details has resulted in a diverse collection of tracks and an album that will stand the test of taste and of time.

Track listing for "Ecdysis":

1. Ecdysis
2. A Song For Kids
3. In Your Arms
4. Barracuda
5. The Spirit Of Juliet
6. Walking City
7. Sweet Samsara Part I
8. Sweet Samsara Part II
9. Today Is Like That
10. The River Of 3 Crossings
11. Amazona
Look for a tour in Fall 2006 as Miho and her band set out to support "Ecdysis."


Founded in 1983, Rykodisc was the world's first CD-only label and is the company that "reinvented the reissue." Rykodisc and its sister company Ryko Distribution are both headquartered in New York City and are subsidiaries of Warner Music Group. The Rykodisc vault spans over one thousand albums including the Frank Zappa catalog as well as the Restless and Hannibal labels. For additional information please visit

Contact Information