Canada Research Chairs

Canada Research Chairs
Canada Foundation for Innovation

Canada Foundation for Innovation
Industry Canada

Industry Canada

June 27, 2005 11:00 ET

Minister Efford Announces One New Canada Research Chair in Newfoundland and Labrador

ST. JOHN'S, NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR--(CCNMatthews - June 27, 2005) - The Honourable R. John Efford, Minister of Natural Resources and Regional Minister for Newfoundland and Labrador, on behalf of the
Honourable David L. Emerson, Minister of Industry, today announced $620 000 in funding for one new Canada Research Chair in Newfoundland and Labrador. Funding for this university researcher in Newfoundland and Labrador from the Canada Research Chairs Program represents $500 000, while an additional $120 000 has been invested by the Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI) to support research infrastructure.

This funding is part of a $62.9-million investment to support 79 new Canada Research Chairs at 31 universities across Canada, which was announced today at the University of Prince Edward Island.

"The Government of Canada is continuing to build a world-class research environment in Canada by investing in new ideas and innovation, and the people who produce them," said Minister Emerson. "Today's funding will support research that is crucial to improving our environment, advancing our health care, protecting our natural resources, and making Canadians more productive and competitive, now and in future generations."

Of the 79 new Canada Research Chairs, 33 are either expatriates returning to Canada or researchers coming to Canada from abroad. So far, the Canada Research Chairs Program has attracted 475 researchers from other countries. The program was designed to attract and retain the best and brightest minds from around the world.

"Attracting and keeping top research talent will help grow the reputations of our institutions and enhance our ability to make innovative scientific and medical advances," said Minister Efford. "This award is good news for Newfoundland and Labrador."

Newfoundland and Labrador's newest Chairholder is Susan Ziegler of Memorial University of Newfoundland. Appointed Canada Research Chair in Environmental Science, Professor Ziegler studies the effect of environmental change on nutrient and dissolved organic matter (DOM) cycling within the continuum from headwater streams to coastal marine ecosystems. Through her work, Professor Ziegler hopes to reveal the interrelated effects of nutrient enrichment and solar UV radiation on DOM biogeochemistry. Her research is influencing both aquatic biogeochemistry and global climate change by clarifying how environmental impacts within watersheds alter ecologically and globally significant carbon reservoirs.

Today's investment also includes $8.1 million from the CFI to fund essential research infrastructure, ranging from computer equipment for information databases to housing for laboratory facilities. For a complete listing of CFI contributions, please visit the Foundation's Web site at

The Canada Research Chairs Program has created 1509 research positions at 73 Canadian universities since it was launched in 2000. The program helps universities attract and retain the best researchers and achieve research excellence in natural sciences and engineering, health sciences and social sciences and humanities.

For more information on this announcement, including the list of recipients, please visit our Web site at

Contact Information

  • Canada Research Chairs Program
    Heloise Perron
    (613) 996-8373 or (613) 371-3783 (cell)
    Canada Foundation for Innovation
    Alastair Sinclair
    (613) 996-3160
    Office of the Honourable John Efford
    Minister of Natural Resources
    Tom Ormsby, Director Of Communications
    (613) 947-8246
    Office of the Honourable David L. Emerson
    Minister of Industry
    Christiane Fox
    (613) 995-9001