Canada Revenue Agency

Canada Revenue Agency

March 31, 2015 14:29 ET

Minister Findlay Announces Appointment to the Canada Revenue Agency's Board of Management

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwired - March 31, 2015) - Canada Revenue Agency

The Honourable Kerry-Lynne D. Findlay, P.C., Q.C., M.P., Minister of National Revenue, today announced the appointment of a new member, Ms. Francine Martel-Vaillancourt, to the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) Board of Management for a three-year term.

Nominated by the Province of Quebec, Ms. Martel-Vaillancourt was twice appointed deputy minister at Revenu Québec (from 2000 to 2003 and 2007 to 2011), and chief executive officer and chair of the Board of Directors at the Commission des normes du travail. She has also served as chief executive officer of Services Québec.

Quick facts

  • The Act to establish the Canada Revenue Agency specifies the establishment of a Board of Management.
  • The CRA Board of Management is responsible for overseeing the organization and administration of the Agency and the management of its resources, services, property, personnel, and contracts. The Board brings a forward-looking, strategic perspective to the CRA's operations and fosters sound management and service delivery.
  • The Board of Management comprises 15 members, including the Chair, the Commissioner, 11 directors nominated by the provinces and territories, and two directors nominated by the federal government. All members are appointed by the Governor in Council.
  • The Act requires that each director nominated by a province or a territory must be selected by the Governor in Council from a list of nominees submitted by the minister responsible for revenue administration in the province or the territory, or by another minister that the province or the territory designates.
  • The Minister of National Revenue retains full accountability to Parliament and to Canadian citizens for all CRA activities.

Associated links

Canada Revenue Agency Act

CRA Board of Management

Stay connected

To receive updates when new information is added to our website, you can:

• Follow the CRA on Twitter - @CanRevAgency.

• Subscribe to a CRA electronic mailing list.

• Add our RSS feeds to your feed reader.

• You can also watch our tax-related videos on YouTube.

Contact Information

  • Rebecca Rogers
    Director of Communications
    Office of the Minister of National Revenue

    Philippe Brideau
    Media Relations
    Canada Revenue Agency