Canada Revenue Agency

Canada Revenue Agency

December 05, 2014 16:33 ET

Minister Findlay Announces Appointments to the Canada Revenue Agency's Board of Management

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwired - Dec. 5, 2014) - Canada Revenue Agency

The Honourable Kerry-Lynne D. Findlay, P.C., Q.C., M.P., Minister of National Revenue, today announced the appointment of two new members to the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) Board of Management. Ms. Joyce Sumara is a federal nominee, one of two such positions on the Board, and Ms. Rossana Buonpensiere was nominated by the Province of Manitoba. Both members have been appointed for three-year terms.

The Minister also announced the re-appointment of the member nominated by Saskatchewan for a three-year term. Mr. Norman Halldorson is a valued director with broad experience in the private sector as a chartered accountant and has greatly contributed to the important oversight work of the Board, which has also benefitted from his leadership as Chair of the Audit Committee.

Quick facts

  • The Act to establish the Canada Revenue Agency specifies the establishment of a Board of Management.
  • The CRA Board of Management is responsible for overseeing the organization and administration of the Agency and the management of its resources, services, property, personnel, and contracts. The Board brings a forward-looking, strategic perspective to the CRA's operations and fosters sound management and service delivery.
  • The Board of Management comprises 15 members, including the Chair, the Commissioner, 11 directors nominated by the provinces and territories, and two directors nominated by the federal government. All members are appointed by the Governor in Council.
  • The Act requires that each director nominated by a province or a territory must be selected by the Governor in Council from a list of nominees submitted by the minister responsible for revenue administration in the province or the territory, or by another minister that the province or the territory designates.
  • The Minister of National Revenue retains full accountability to Parliament and to Canadian citizens for all CRA activities.

Associated links

Canada Revenue Agency Act

CRA Board of Management

Stay connected

To receive updates when new information is added to our website, you can:

• Follow the CRA on Twitter - @CanRevAgency.

• Subscribe to a CRA electronic mailing list.

• Add our RSS feeds to your feed reader.

• You can also watch our tax-related videos on YouTube.

Contact Information

  • Rebecca Rogers
    Director of Communications
    Office of the Minister of National Revenue

    Noel Carisse
    Media Relations
    Canada Revenue Agency