Canada Revenue Agency

Canada Revenue Agency

June 26, 2015 17:00 ET

Minister Findlay Announces Appointments to the Canada Revenue Agency's Board of Management

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwired - June 26, 2015) - Canada Revenue Agency

The Honourable Kerry-Lynne D. Findlay, P.C., Q.C., M.P., today announced the appointment of a new member to the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) Board of Management. Mr. Todd J. McCarthy, from the province of Ontario, will serve for a three-year term. The Minister also announced the re-appointment of Mr. Gerard J. Fitzpatrick, nominated by the Province of Prince Edward Island.

Mr. McCarthy is a lawyer and a specialist in civil litigation. He has extensive experience in mediation and a strong background in multi-jurisdictional disputes. Mr. McCarthy served as a deputy judge of the Superior Court of Justice (Central East Region) and has taught at the Queen's University Faculty of Law, the Law Society of Upper Canada, and other advanced Ontario legal education programs. He has directed legal associations and served on boards in his community, including as chair of the Scarborough Hospital Foundation.

Mr. Fitzpatrick has more than 30 years of experience in public accounting, specializing primarily in income tax for professionals and owner-managed businesses. He is a founding member of several accounting firms that provide a wide range of services in many business sectors and has greatly contributed to the important oversight work of the CRA Board of Management, notably through his work on the Audit Committee.

Quick facts

  • The Act to establish the Canada Revenue Agency specifies the establishment of a board of management.
  • The CRA Board of Management is responsible for overseeing the organization and administration of the Agency and the management of its resources, services, property, personnel, and contracts. The Board brings a forward-looking, strategic perspective to the CRA's operations and fosters sound management and service delivery.
  • The Board of Management comprises 15 members, including the chair, the commissioner, 11 directors nominated by the provinces and territories, and two directors nominated by the federal government. All members are appointed by the Governor in Council.
  • The Minister of National Revenue retains full accountability to Parliament and to Canadian citizens for all CRA activities.

Associated links

Canada Revenue Agency Act

CRA Board of Management

Stay connected

To receive updates when new information is added to our website:

• Follow the CRA on Twitter - @CanRevAgency.

• Subscribe to a CRA electronic mailing list.

• Add our RSS feeds to your feed reader.

Also watch our tax-related videos on YouTube.

Contact Information

  • Rebecca Rogers
    Director of Communications
    Office of the Minister of National Revenue

    Philippe Brideau
    Media Relations
    Canada Revenue Agency