Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Fisheries and Oceans Canada

May 07, 2007 13:30 ET

Minister Hearn Presents 2007 Recreational Fisheries Awards

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(CCNMatthews - May 7, 2007) - The Honourable Loyola Hearn, Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, today presented the 2007 Recreational Fisheries Awards to four recipients, recognizing their hard work and dedication in promoting conservation and sustainable recreational fishing. The awards ceremony took place on Parliament Hill.

"Canada's New Government has made significant investments in marine conservation and fisheries science since we took office; but governments can't do it alone," said Minister Hearn to the award recipients. "Thanks in large part to people like you, Canadians will be able to enjoy healthy fish stocks in a clean environment for generations to come. You sacrifice your time, energy and resources to get the work done on the front line. I am honoured to recognize your hard work and dedication at this ceremony today."

The 2007 award recipients are:

Northwest River Atlantic Salmon Conservation Working Group, Port
Blandford, Newfoundland and Labrador

Comite de valorisation de la riviere Beauport (CVRB), Beauport,

Chris Atkinson, Kitchener, Ontario

Tim Doskoch, Edmonton, Alberta

John Brockley, Smithers, British Columbia

Minister Hearn presented the winners with a pewter medallion, made by the Canadian Mint, a lapel pin and a framed Award Certificate. Mr. John Brockley was presented with his award at a separate ceremony held in Parksville, British Columbia on April 21, 2007.

Canada's Recreational Fisheries Awards were created in 1989 to recognize outstanding contributions by individuals and organizations in areas such as recreational community leadership, restoring and enhancing fisheries and fish habitat or promoting conservation and sustainable recreational fishing.

For a summary of the achievements of Canada's 2007 Recreational Fisheries Awards winners, visit our website at:

Nominations can now be submitted for Canada's 2008 Recreational Fisheries Awards. Nomination criteria can be found on DFO's website at:



The Northwest River Atlantic Salmon Conservation Working Group, Port Blandford, Newfoundland and Labrador. In 2002, local residents joined with government agencies to form the Northwest River Atlantic Salmon Conservation Working Group. Led by two local citizens, this advisory group of community residents and government agencies created a population recovery and conservation plan. They came up with the innovative idea of using an incentive-based fishery that would ensure conservation and sustainability of the salmon stock while providing realistic and tangible benefits for anglers and residents if the stock was looked after. The group's efforts have been successful as the salmon population has come from risk of extirpation to three consecutive record breaking runs in less than four years.

Comite de valorisation de la riviere Beauport (CVRB), Beauport, Quebec. The Comite de valorisation de la riviere Beauport (CVRB) is a non-profit organization located in Quebec City that has been working on various environmental projects for 15 years. Its primary objective is the promotion, enhancement and conservation of the Beauport River and its watershed. The Comite created the project Attention a l'habitat du poisson! the first of its kind in Quebec. This project seeks to directly protect fish habitat and to raise the awareness of secondary school students in several parts of Quebec. The project gives secondary school students an opportunity to study fish habitat through dynamic, interactive learning activities and to take concrete measures to protect fish habitat.

Mr. Chris Atkinson, Kitchener, Ontario. Through the various initiatives that he has spearheaded, Mr. Chris Atkinson has raised awareness of the significance of the Nottawasaga River Watershed as one of the premier coldwater fisheries ecosystems in the Province of Ontario. An avid participant in recreational fishing, Chris founded the Nottawasaga Steelheaders Association in 1993 in order to develop a non-government organization that would act as an advocate for the coldwater fisheries of the Nottawasaga Basin and promote their effective management. By establishing and providing leadership, Chris has been a key contributor to the Boyne River Restoration Program since 1996. Mr. Atkinson has worked tirelessly to further the positive management of wild coldwater fish stocks and to restore their habitat.

Mr. Tim Doskoch, Edmonton, Alberta. If it had not been for Mr. Tim Doskoch's ambitious idea to establish a new lake fishery in the Edmonton area, the Muir Lake Fishery, Interpretation Centre and Walk of Fame would most likely not exist today. Following the deaths of two prominent Albertan recreational fishing advocates, Mr. Doskoch took it upon himself to organize a memorial. Mr. Doskoch coordinated locating a suitable lake, fundraising, clearing the basin, and development of plaques for the Interpretation Centre and the Walk of Fame. The Muir Lake Project officially opened in May 2004. It has proven to be a tremendous success which provides a marvellous fishing opportunity for area residents, while educating the public about recreational fisheries and those who have contributed so much to its enhancement and preservation over the years.

Mr. John Brockley, Smithers, British Columbia. Mr. John Brockley is well recognized for his "knowledge, tenacity and dedication to the advancement of the recreational fishery in British Columbia." He has dedicated a major portion of his life to working for the betterment of the fisheries resource and recreational fisheries. He has worked tirelessly as an advocate to federal and provincial governments on key policy areas affecting the recreational fishery and was a key participant in a multi-sectoral forum dealing with the Pacific salmon allocation process. Mr. Brockley's association with the Sport Fishing Advisory Board spans over 25 years. In whatever capacity Mr. Brockley participates, his contributions are considerable and productive.

Contact Information

  • Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Ottawa
    Sophie Galarneau
    Media Relations
    Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Ottawa
    Office of the Minister
    Steve Outhouse, Director of Communications