Department of National Defence

Department of National Defence

June 11, 2012 21:00 ET

Minister MacKay Welcomes Participants of the Conference of the American Air Chiefs to Canada

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - June 11, 2012) - The Honourable Peter MacKay, Minister of National Defence, joined by Lieutenant-General André Deschamps, Commander of the Royal Canadian Air Force (RCAF), today welcomed the air force chiefs and representatives from 18 Western Hemisphere nations, and three observer nations, participating in the 52nd annual Conference of the American Air Chiefs, or CONJEFAMER, in Ottawa.

"Canada is honoured to be hosting the leaders of our partner air forces," said Minister MacKay. "This event is an opportunity for our air forces to exchange ideas and develop a deeper understanding of the issues facing our partners and friends in the Americas."

The location of each year's CONJEFAMER conference rotates among member nations; this year, the RCAF is hosting the military delegations in Ottawa during the week-long event, from June 10 to 15, 2012.

Conference attendees are meeting in Ottawa to confer over recommendations and programs proposed during CONJEFAMER committee meetings held earlier this year. The air chiefs will discuss cooperation during natural disaster responses, human resources management, information security, and initiatives to share information with the goal of achieving safer flight operations.

"In addition to considering various proposals, members will also approve an exercise schedule for combined events, discuss the granting of awards and appoint committees to study issues," said Lt.-Gen. Deschamps. "This conference, and the subsequent events approved by members, will continue to strengthen the bonds of friendship between air forces of the Americas and facilitate further commitments to peace and stability in this region."

Attendees at this year's CONJEFAMER include Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, United States, and Uruguay. Belize, Jamaica and Mexico will be represented as observers.

Contact Information