Canadian Heritage

Canadian Heritage

December 22, 2008 16:49 ET

Minister Moore Announces New Appointment to CBC/Radio-Canada Board of Directors

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Dec. 22, 2008) - The Honourable James Moore, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages, today announced the appointment of Peter Dominic Charbonneau as a member of the Board of Directors of CBC/Radio-Canada.

"Mr. Charbonneau brings a wealth of knowledge and skills to CBC/Radio-Canada," said Minister Moore. "I am confident that the Board will benefit from his broad experience in both the financial and accounting fields."

Since 2001, Mr. Charbonneau has been one of three general partners at Skypoint Capital Corporation, where he is responsible for the placement and management of various funds. Prior to this, he served as executive vice president of March Networks Corporation and held several senior positions with Newbridge Networks Corporation. Mr. Charbonneau's career began as an accountant with Deloitte & Touche in 1977.

Mr. Charbonneau has been a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Ontario since 1979, and he was elected a fellow of the Institute in 2003. He has served on the board of directors of several technology companies, including Telus Corporation, March Networks Corporation and Mitel Networks Corporation. He holds a Master of Business Administration degree from the University of Western Ontario and has completed the Directors Education Program of the Institute of Corporate Directors of Canada.

CBC/Radio-Canada is the country's largest cultural institution. It operates two national television networks, four national radio networks, specialty television services, various Internet sites, and an international shortwave radio service. It is the only cultural institution and the only broadcaster offering services to all Canadians in English and French across Canada and in eight Aboriginal languages across the North.

This news release is available on the Internet at under Media Room.

Contact Information

  • Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage
    and Official Languages
    Deirdra McCracken
    Director of Communications