Canada Revenue Agency

Canada Revenue Agency

February 09, 2011 14:45 ET

Minister of National Revenue Announces the Reappointment of the Taxpayers' Ombudsman

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Feb. 9, 2011) - The Honourable Keith Ashfield, Minister of National Revenue, today announced that Mr. J. Paul Dubé, who became Canada's first Taxpayers' Ombudsman in February of 2008, has been reappointed for a five-year term.

"Four years ago, our government created the position of Taxpayers' Ombudsman to enhance the CRA's accountability to Canadians and to assure taxpayers that they will be treated fairly and with respect," said Minister Ashfield. "It is my pleasure to announce that Mr. Dubé will continue in that role."

The Taxpayers' Ombudsman is an independent and impartial officer who is appointed to investigate complaints from people who believe they have been treated unfairly or unprofessionally by the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA). The Office of the Taxpayers' Ombudsman also identifies and investigates systemic and emerging service-related issues that have a negative impact on taxpayers.

"I look forward to the opportunity to build on our accomplishments and to deliver more positive results for taxpayers," said Mr. Dubé. "Our office will continue to work to uphold the service rights in the Taxpayer Bill of Rights and to help the CRA provide the highest level of service to Canadians."

To date, Mr. Dubé has produced two annual reports which have been tabled in Parliament. He has also published two special reports: The Right to Know and Proving Your Status. The Canada Revenue Agency has carefully studied all of these reports and has already taken steps to address many of the issues that he has identified.

"Our government is committed to integrity, professionalism, respect and cooperation, and recognizes the important role of the Taxpayers' Ombudsman," added Minister Ashfield. "Our government shares the same goals as the Taxpayers' Ombudsman, which are to enhance the Agency's accountability and service to the public, and to provide fair treatment to all Canadians."

For more information, visit

Contact Information

  • Office of the Minister of National Revenue
    Erin Filliter
    Director, Communications
    Office of the Taxpayers' Ombudsman
    Kimberley Boyer
    Communications Officer