Natural Resources Canada

Natural Resources Canada

June 20, 2013 14:34 ET

Minister Oliver Announces Appointment of New Members to the National Energy Board

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwired - June 20, 2013) - The Honourable Joe Oliver, Canada's Minister of Natural Resources, today announced the appointment of Don Young and Shane Parrish as permanent (full-time) members of the National Energy Board (NEB).

"I am pleased to announce the appointment of Mr. Young and Mr. Parrish as new members of the National Energy Board," said Minister Oliver. "Mr. Young's leadership and executive management experience, including a considerable background in Canada's energy industry, along with Mr. Parrish's expertise in the areas of consultation, indigenous business development and negotiations, will benefit the Board in its important work going forward."

Mr. Young, a former Chief Executive Officer of Ducks Unlimited, has expertise in environmental, economic and social impact assessment, as well as stakeholder consultation in Canada, the United States and internationally. Mr. Parrish has extensive experience in Aboriginal consultation, indigenous business development and negotiations in the petroleum and mining industries. Mr. Parrish and Mr. Young will serve seven-year terms with the Board.

The NEB is an independent federal agency established by the Parliament of Canada to regulate international and interprovincial aspects of the oil, gas and electric utility industries. The NEB regulates pipelines, energy development and trade in the Canadian public interest.

The following media backgrounder is available at

Shane Parrish / Don Young - Biographical Notes

NRCan's news releases and backgrounders are available at

Follow us on Twitter: @NRCan (

Contact Information

  • Media may contact:
    David Provencher
    Press Secretary
    Office of Canada's Minister of Natural Resources

    Media Relations
    Natural Resources Canada, Ottawa

    The general public may contact:
    Mon.-Fri., 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. EDT
    Telephone: 613-995-0947
    TTY: 613-996-4397
    (teletype for the hearing-impaired)