Natural Resources Canada

Natural Resources Canada

December 08, 2011 16:23 ET

Minister Oliver Appoints New CNSC Temporary Members

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Dec. 8, 2011) - The Honourable Joe Oliver, Minister of Natural Resources, today announced the appointment of three temporary members to the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC), Dr. James Archibald, Mr. Gunter Muecke and Dr. Stella Swanson.

"These individuals possess impressive scientific backgrounds, in terms of both their training and their professional experience," said Minister Oliver. "I am confident that the CNSC will be well served by their expertise and dedication."

The CNSC is mandated to regulate the nuclear sector in Canada. It protects the health, safety and security of Canadians as well as the environment, and respects Canada's international commitments on the peaceful use of nuclear energy.

The following media backgrounder is available at

a. Biographical Notes: Dr. James Archibald, Mr. Gunter Muecke and Dr. Stella Swanson

NRCan's news releases and backgrounders are available at

Contact Information

  • Media may contact:
    Patricia Best
    Director of Communications
    Office of the Minister
    Natural Resources Canada, Ottawa

    Media Relations
    Natural Resources Canada, Ottawa

    The general public may contact:
    Mon.-Fri., 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. EST
    Telephone: 613-995-0947
    TTY: 613-996-4397 (teletype for the hearing-impaired)