Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Fisheries and Oceans Canada

May 04, 2009 11:01 ET

Minister Shea Presents the 2009 Recreational Fisheries Awards

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - May 4, 2009) - The Honourable Gail Shea, Federal Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, presented the 2009 Recreational Fisheries Awards during a ceremony today on Parliament Hill. This year, two organizations and three individuals received the prestigious award.

"This year's recipients have all made very important contributions to Canada's world-renowned recreational fisheries," said Minister Shea. "Our government recognizes that their hard work and commitment to building sustainable fisheries will ensure that Canadians can continue to enjoy this natural resource in years to come."

This year marks the 20th anniversary of the National Recreational Fisheries Awards, which recognize the outstanding efforts of individuals and groups working to ensure that Canada's recreational fishery remains healthy and abundant.

The 2009 recipients are:

Miramichi Headwaters Salmon Federation, New Brunswick

Grand River Fisheries Management Plan Implementation Committee, Ontario

Hugh Naylor, British Columbia

Grant Anderson, British Columbia

Ken Franzen, British Columbia

Any individual, group, business or association is eligible for the award, and can be nominated at any time during the year by an individual or organization, and a co-sponsor. Projects upon which nominations are based must be supported by documentation and undertaken in Canada, independent of government agencies, by Canadian citizens or landed immigrants.

For more information about the National Recreational Fisheries Awards and this year's winners, please visit our website at


Canada's Recreational Fisheries Awards / Summary of Achievements of 2009 Recipients (

Contact Information

  • Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Ottawa
    Phil Jenkins
    Media Relations
    Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Ottawa
    Office of the Minister
    John Morris
    Director of Communications