Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

December 11, 2006 12:55 ET

Minister Strahl Looks Forward to Working with New Canadian Wheat Board

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(CCNMatthews - Dec. 11, 2006) - The Honourable Chuck Strahl, Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food and Minister for the Canadian Wheat Board, today congratulated the five newly-elected directors of the Canadian Wheat Board (CWB).

"Western Canadian grain farmers in five of the ten CWB districts have chosen their directors for the next four years, which will be a critical period," said Minister Strahl. "I look forward to working with the Board as we move ahead."

The mail-in ballot election period ended on December 1 and the results were announced yesterday by the Election Coordinator, accounting firm Meyers Norris Penny LLP. Five CWB directors are elected every two years and they serve four-year terms.

"These newly elected directors along with the rest of the current Board have a number of important issues to deal with, including the fact that government has a policy direction of moving to marketing choice," asserted Minister Strahl.

Ten of the fifteen CWB directors are elected by farmers and the other five directors are appointed by the Government of Canada.

"Canada's New Government remains committed to moving forward on its promise to provide farmers with a choice in how they market their products and will do so in an open and transparent way," added Minister Strahl. "To this end, I have announced that there will be a plebiscite in the new year on marketing of barley."

For information on the new government's path towards marketing choice, please visit

Contact Information

  • Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Ottawa, Ontario
    Media Relations
    Minister Strahl's office
    Jeff Howard
    Press Secretary