Public Safety Canada

Public Safety Canada

July 31, 2009 15:49 ET

Minister Van Loan Announces Appointment of New Chairperson and Executive Vice-Chairperson to the National Parole Board

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - July 31, 2009) - The Honourable Peter Van Loan, Minister of Public Safety, today announced the appointment of Harvey J. Cenaiko as Chairperson of the National Parole Board (NPB). Minister Van Loan was also pleased to announce the appointment of Marie-France Pelletier as Executive Vice-Chairperson of the NPB.

Prior to this appointment, Mr. Cenaiko, a resident of Calgary, Alberta, was Vice-Chairperson of the Board's Prairie Region. From 2004 to 2006, he was Solicitor General and Minister of Public Security for the Province of Alberta. Mr. Cenaiko also enjoyed a 25-year career with the Calgary Police Service, retiring with the rank of Inspector. He brings to his new position a wealth of knowledge and experience in criminal justice, including community and Aboriginal policing, victim services and has worked closely with First Nations and youth groups.

Marie-France Pelletier of Montreal, Quebec, was a full-time Member working in the Board's Quebec Region. Prior to her appointment as Executive Vice-Chairperson, Ms. Pelletier was Chief of Staff to the Vice-Chancellor of McGill University. In 2006, she was Deputy Minister, Policy and Priorities, for the Government of New Brunswick. Ms. Pelletier has vast experience as a public policy analyst and holds a law degree from the Universite de Moncton.

"I am pleased to announce these appointments, which reflect the federal government's commitment to ensuring appointments to the National Parole Board are based on merit and ability," said Minister Van Loan. "The National Parole Board is an independent decision-making tribunal that plays a significant role in contributing to the safety of our communities, making it imperative that we appoint highly qualified and committed people."

Contact Information