Public Safety Canada

Public Safety Canada

March 09, 2009 15:00 ET

Minister Van Loan Announces Two Appointments to the National Parole Board

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - March 9, 2009) - The Honourable Peter Van Loan, Minister of Public Safety, today announced two full-time appointments to the National Parole Board.

Quebec Region

Denis Couillard of Laval, Quebec, is re-appointed as a full-time member and is also designated Vice-Chairperson of the Quebec region. Mr. Couillard was first appointed to the Board in 1991 as a part-time member, and in February 2007 was appointed as a full-time member. Since 1979, Mr. Couillard has worked for various agencies including the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and Correctional Service Canada. Mr. Couillard also taught criminology, sociology and social justice at the University of Ottawa.

Ontario/Nunavut Region

Simonne Ferguson of Kingston, Ontario, is appointed as a full-time member and is also designated Vice-Chairperson of the Ontario/Nunavut region. Ms. Ferguson has over 34 years' experience in the federal criminal justice system, and has been the Regional Director of the National Parole Board, Ontario/Nunavut region for the last 20 years. She started her career as a Parole Officer in Kingston and occupied various positions at Correctional Service Canada, including Director of the Portsmouth Community Correctional Centre. She has been a member of the United Way Board of Directors in Kingston for the last 5 years.

"I am pleased to announce these two appointments, which reflect the federal government's commitment to ensuring appointments to the National Parole Board are based on merit and ability," said Minister Van Loan. "The National Parole Board is an independent decision-making tribunal that plays a significant role in contributing to the safety of our communities, making it imperative that we appoint highly qualified and committed people," he added.

Contact Information