Veterans Affairs Canada

Veterans Affairs Canada

March 06, 2007 11:27 ET

Minister of Veterans Affairs Announces Appointment to the Veterans Review and Appeal Board

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(CCNMatthews - March 6, 2007) - The Honourable Greg Thompson, Minister of Veterans Affairs, today announced the appointment of one new member to the Veterans Review and Appeal Board (VRAB).

Richard Woodfield, of Cambridge, Ont., has been named to the Board for a three-year term, effective immediately.

"Mr. Woodfield will make an excellent addition to the Board," said Minister Greg Thompson. "He has a wealth of experience in both the private and public sectors, and has been recognized for his volunteer work.

"I know our Veterans and other Canadians counting on VRAB will be well served by his appointment," added Minister Thompson.

VRAB handles the review and appeals of disability pension and award decisions for Veterans, Canadian Forces personnel, Royal Canadian Mounted Police, and certain civilians and/or their dependants. VRAB also deals with the final appeal on War Veterans Allowance decisions made by Veterans Affairs Canada.

Mr. Woodfield is president of a management consulting firm, has served on numerous provincial policy councils and tribunals, and is respected in his community for his tireless volunteer efforts.

His appointment was made through a new open and transparent hiring process that includes rigorous testing and screening to ensure only the most qualified candidates are appointed.

Created in 1995, the Veterans Review and Appeal Board is an independent, quasi-judicial agency that reports directly to Parliament through the Minister of Veterans Affairs. There are now 27 full-time members on the Board, including the Chair and Deputy Chair.

For more information, including a backgrounder on the appointment process for VRAB members, visit the VRAB Web site at

Contact Information

  • Office of the Minister of Veterans Affairs
    Gerald A. Lefebvre
    Director of Communications
    Veterans Review and Appeal Board
    Karen Rowell
    A/Director General