Public Safety Canada

Public Safety Canada

March 13, 2008 11:28 ET

Ministers Day and Nicholson Appoint New Members to the Cross-Cultural Roundtable on Security

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - March 13, 2008) - The Honourable Stockwell Day, Minister of Public Safety, and the Honourable Rob Nicholson, Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada, today announced five new appointments to the Cross-Cultural Roundtable on Security.

Joining the Roundtable are Dr. Frank Dimant, Mr. Peter Dinsdale, Ms. Bronwyn Shoush, Mr. Sukhvinder Singh Badh and Ms. Anju Virmani.

"Through valuable partnerships such as the Roundtable, we are continuing in our efforts to protect Canadians and build a mutual understanding of Canada's diverse and pluralistic society," said Minister Day. "The input of these new members, all leaders in their communities, will be instrumental in matters affecting national security."

"The Cross-Cultural Roundtable on Security is a good example of a partnership between Canadians and their government," said Minister Nicholson. "These new members bring their collective experience, broad range of perspectives, and willingness to contribute to the dialogue on national security - they will be tremendous assets to the Roundtable, and to Canada."

The 15-member volunteer panel of the Roundtable represents a broad cross-section of individuals, expertise and experience. Members come together several times a year to discuss matters of national security and offer feedback on potential impacts for Canada's diverse communities.

Roundtable participants are appointed by the Ministers of Public Safety and Justice for a maximum of three renewable one-year terms. Re-appointments are scheduled to ensure continuity as well as a rotation of the Roundtable membership. Throughout 2008, additional new members will be appointed to the Roundtable, as current members complete their terms.

Ministers Day and Nicholson also wish to thank the outgoing members for their service and many valuable contributions to the Roundtable. They include Dr. Jane Boulden, Mr. David Gisser, Mr. Mohinder Grewal, Dr. Zaheer Lakhani, and Dr. Vettivelu Nallainayagam.

A backgrounder provides details on new membership. For a complete list of current Roundtable members, please visit:

Contact Information

  • Office of the Honourable Stockwell Day
    Minister of Public Safety
    Melisa Leclerc
    Director of Communications
    Public Safety Canada
    Media Relations
    Department of Justice Canada
    Media Relations
    Office of the Minister of Justice
    Darren Eke
    Press Secretary