City of Mississauga

City of Mississauga

November 19, 2007 11:22 ET

Mississauga Honours Design Excellence at 26th Anniversary Urban Design Awards

MISSISSAUGA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Nov. 19, 2007) - At the 2007 Mississauga Urban Design Award presentation, the City of Mississauga will recognize designers, owners, builders and developers for their winning entries in this year's competition.

The Mississauga Urban Design Awards demonstrate the City's urban design vision through the award criteria: creative and innovative use of building site and location, maintaining community character, enhancing the visual image of the City, contribution to the environment and appropriate use of quality building materials.

The winners of the Mississauga Urban Design Awards achieve the City's high standards of excellence in urban design. Representatives of the building and development industry are recognized for their contribution to making Mississauga a vibrant and liveable city. The Mississauga Urban Design Awards is the longest running program of its kind in Ontario.

For the second year, the Mississauga Urban Design Award program will include a "People's Choice Award." The winning award submission, as selected by the City's residents who take part in the web-based selection process and by ballot box, will be presented at the award ceremony.

Tuesday, November 20, 6:30 to 9 p.m.

Mayor Hazel McCallion
Ward 6 Councillor Carolyn Parrish
Ed Sajecki, Commissioner of Planning and Building
Mark Sterling of Sweeny, Sterling Finalyson & Company Architects
Harold Madi of The Planning Parthership
National Post columnist Peter Kuitenbrouwer.

Living Arts Centre
Royal Bank Theatre
4141 Living Arts Drive
Mississauga, ON

For more information about the Mississauga Urban Design Awards, past winners, selection criteria and program highlights please go to

Contact Information