Canadian Heritage

Canadian Heritage

December 18, 2006 16:00 ET

Moose Jaw Designated a 2007 Cultural Capital of Canada

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(CCNMatthews - Dec. 18, 2006) - On behalf of the Honourable Beverley J. Oda, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Status of Women, Dave Batters, Member of Parliament (Palliser) today announced that Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, has been designated a 2007 Cultural Capital of Canada, in the less than 50,000 population category. Comox Valley, British Columbia; Edmonton, Alberta; Baie-Saint-Paul, Quebec; and the Huron-Wendat Nation of Wendake, Quebec, have also been named Cultural Capitals for 2007.

"Canada's New Government is dedicated to enriching the lives of Canadians by supporting projects that increase their access to the arts and culture," said Minister Oda. "The Cultural Capitals of Canada Program celebrates the unique character of Canadian municipalities and recognizes the important role they play in highlighting the richness and diversity of our culture."

"I'm proud that this community has been recognized for its commitment to nurturing arts and culture as a part of life here in Moose Jaw," said Mr. Batters.

Moose Jaw's commitment to the arts and culture shines through in its Year of the Creative Person. Celebrations will include an art project and workshops to introduce the public to works and techniques of an Aboriginal painter and a sidewalk artist, a summer play exploring Moose Jaw's colourful reputation as the "Chicago of the Prairies," drama camps for children, and songwriting workshops. Moose Jaw's strong sense of community spirit will be highlighted throughout the year as a 2007 Cultural Capital of Canada.

The Cultural Capitals of Canada awards recognize the achievements of communities that demonstrate an ongoing commitment to the arts and culture. Funding is awarded for special projects that celebrate arts and culture and create a cultural legacy for the community. Moose Jaw could receive a contribution of up to $500,000.

An independent advisory committee, composed of the mayors of the 2006 Cultural Capitals of Canada and experts in the arts and culture fields, unanimously recommended the communities to be designated to Minister Oda.

Canadian municipalities and First Nations, Inuit, and Metis communities can apply to this program. The Department is currently evaluating applications for the 2008 and 2009 awards. The application deadline for the 2010 Cultural Capitals of Canada awards is October 15, 2007.

A list of all applicant communities, a summary of the projects of the designated communities, and the maximum possible funding they can receive can be found on the Department of Canadian Heritage website at under Media Room.

(This news release is available on the Internet at under Media Room.)

Contact Information

  • Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage
    and Status of Women
    Chisholm Pothier
    Director of Communications
    Canadian Heritage
    Donald Boulanger
    A/Chief, Media Relations
    Office of the Member of Parliament for Palliser
    Bonnie Poissant