February 09, 2010 14:45 ET

More Choice for Canadians Travelling to Morocco

QUEBEC CITY, QUEBEC--(Marketwire - Feb. 9, 2010) - The Honourable Rob Merrifield, Minister of State (Transport), today met with Karim Ghellab, Morocco's Minister of Equipment and Transport, to discuss the recently expanded air transport agreement between the two countries. The ministers had a bilateral meeting at the International Winter Road Congress, which they were both attending, in Quebec City. Morocco is Canada's longest-standing air services partner in Africa.

"This agreement will expand options for air travellers between our two countries," said Minister Merrifield. "More competition on pricing and service will benefit travellers heading to and from Morocco."

The expanded air transport agreement allows airlines of each country to provide scheduled air services to more destinations in the other's territory. It also makes it easier for airlines to adjust their prices to meet current market conditions. In addition, airlines may choose to offer air services using the flights of other airlines, commonly known as code-sharing services.

"Our government is committed to expanding the movement of people and goods in support of Canadian business and investment activities abroad," said the Honourable Peter Van Loan, Minister of International Trade. "The conclusion of this expanded agreement will provide additional options for business development between Canada and Morocco."

The agreement is being applied on an administrative basis, allowing airlines to offer new services immediately. Once ratified, the new agreement will replace the 1975 Canada-Morocco bilateral air transport agreement.

Since January 2006, the Government of Canada has negotiated open, new or expanded air service agreements with nearly 50 countries:

- open skies-type agreements with eight countries: the United Kingdom, Ireland, Iceland, New Zealand, Barbados, the Dominican Republic, Costa Rica and South Korea;

- expanded agreements with eight countries: Portugal, Mexico, Japan, Jordan, Singapore, the Philippines, Morocco and Cuba;

- new agreements with seven countries: Algeria, Kuwait, Serbia, Croatia, Panama, Turkey and South Africa; and

- a comprehensive air transport agreement between Canada and the European Union's 27 member states. This includes Cyprus, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Slovakia and Slovenia, with which Canada did not previously have air agreements.

Transport Canada is online at Subscribe to news releases and speeches at and keep up to date on the latest from Transport Canada.

This news release may be made available in alternative formats for persons living with visual disabilities.

Contact Information

  • James Kusie
    Office of Canada's Transport Minister,
    John Baird, Ottawa
    Media Relations
    Transport Canada, Ottawa