National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation

National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation

August 26, 2009 12:53 ET

National Aboriginal Achievement Awards nominated for two Geminis

Award Show Hosts and Design nominated

Attention: Arts/Entertainment Editor, Assignment Editor, City Editor, Lifestyle Editor, News Editor TORONTO, ONTARIO, NEWS RELEASE--(Marketwire - Aug. 26, 2009) - The Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television announced the nominations for the 24th Annual Gemini Awards August 25 which includes two nominations for this year's 16th Annual National Aboriginal Achievement Awards broadcast.

The National Aboriginal Achievement Awards hosts Adam Beach and Tina Keeper were nominated in the 'Best Performance or Host in a Variety Program or Series' category. The 16th Annual Awards show which recognize the best and brightest in the Aboriginal community also garnered a nomination for 'Best Achievement in Main Title Design.' The opening title design was created by Boyan Stergulc.

"This is an honour to be nominated for two Geminis for the outstanding show this year," said Roberta Jamieson, President and CEO for the National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation who is Executive Producer of the annual awards show. "Our dedicated team worked very hard this year in creating one of the most vibrant and professional shows we have ever produced."

"The news of the Gemini nominations gives us extra motivation to make the 2010 Awards Gala the best ever. We hope everyone across Canada will join us for the show and share the powerful message of Aboriginal achievement."

This year's 24th Annual Gemini Awards - recognizing the year's best in Canadian English-language television - will take place on Saturday November 14th in Calgary, Alberta and will be broadcast live on Global and Showcase.
The National Aboriginal Achievement Awards (NAAA) were established to encourage and celebrate excellence in the Aboriginal community. NAAF created the Awards in 1993, in conjunction with the United Nation's International Decade of the World's Indigenous Peoples. The Awards recognize the outstanding career achievements of First Nations, Inuit and Métis people, in diverse occupations. Now entering its 17th year, these Awards have become a Canadian institution.
This year's 17th Annual National Aboriginal Achievement Awards will take place in Regina Saskatchewan, March 26, 2010. For more information or how to support the 17th Annual Awards Gala - visit or call us at 1-800 329-9780
Nominate someone outstanding for a National Aboriginal Achievement Award. Download your Nomination Form at - Deadline for nominations is September 23
NAAA Supporters for 2009/2010

CIBC- Lead Corporate Sponsor - Government of Canada
Canwest Media Inc. -Aboriginal Peoples Television Network - Suncor Energy Foundation
Air Canada - Tribal Councils Investment Group of Manitoba Ltd. - Nexen Inc. - BP Canada Energy Company - Fort McKay Group of Companies - Great-West Life - London Life and Canada Life
/For further information: Jamie Monastyrski
Director of Communications & Media
National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation
cell: 416-903-4331
416-926-0775 ext: 238

Contact Information

  • Jamie Monastyrski, Director of Communications, National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation
    Primary Phone: 416-903-4331