Natural Resources Canada

Natural Resources Canada

December 16, 2008 10:00 ET

Natural Resources Canada: Minister Raitt Announces National Energy Board Appointments

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Dec. 16, 2008) - The Honourable Lisa Raitt, Minister of Natural Resources, today announced the appointments of Sara Jane Snook and Bob Vergette to the National Energy Board (NEB) as temporary members. Ms. Snook is the founder of a consulting company specializing in the commercialization of new technologies and research innovations. Mr. Vergette is an internationally recognized pipeline specialist with over 21 years of experience in the gas industry.

"Ms. Snook and Mr. Vergette each bring a wealth of expertise and experience to the Board," said Minister Raitt. "I am confident that their contributions toward ensuring smart regulations in the energy sector will be extremely valuable."

With extensive experience in the energy sector, Ms. Snook has served in the Nova Scotia Offshore Energy Office and the province's Department of Natural Resources, where she managed the petroleum resources branch. Ms. Snook spent seven years as a new venture reservoir engineer and business development engineer with Esso Resources Canada Limited. She is a member of the Association of Professional Engineers of Nova Scotia and the Alberta Association of Professional Engineers, Geologists and Geophysicists. Ms. Snook has also served as a member of the Canada-Nova Scotia Offshore Petroleum Board. She holds bachelor's and master's degrees in engineering from Dalhousie University and a Management Development Certificate from the University of Calgary.

Mr. Vergette is a former Vice-President of Field Operations for Terasen Gas and has chaired national committees on pipeline integrity for the Canadian Standards Association and the Canadian Energy Pipeline Association. He is a member of the Alberta Association of Professional Engineers, Geologists and Geophysicists and holds a mechanical engineering degree from the University of Alberta. He is also a graduate of the Banff School of Advanced Management.

The National Energy Board is the independent federal regulatory board that oversees Canada's oil, gas and electric utility industries. The NEB is composed of six board members, a Chair/CEO and a Vice-chair. The Board is responsible for safety, environmental protection and economic efficiency with respect to the regulation of pipelines, energy development and trade. Members of the board serve under tight rules of disclosure to ensure the integrity, regulatory leadership and accountability of the NEB. The NEB reports to Parliament through the Minister of Natural Resources.


Natural Resources Minister Lisa Raitt has appointed Sara Jane Snook of Halifax, Nova Scotia and Bob Vergette of Pender Island, British Columbia to the National Energy Board as temporary members. The NEB is the independent federal government board responsible for regulating pipelines, energy development and energy trade in Canada.

NRCan's news releases and backgrounders are available at

Contact Information

  • Media may contact:
    Natural Resources Canada, Ottawa
    Office of the Minister
    Jasmine MacDonnell, Press Secretary
    The general public may contact:
    Mon-Fri, 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. EST
    Telephone: 613-995-0947
    TTY: 613-996-4397 (teletype for the hearing-impaired)