Natural Resources Canada

Natural Resources Canada

May 14, 2008 14:53 ET

Natural Resources Canada: New Chair Appointed to the Board of Sustainable Development Technology Canada

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - May 14, 2008) - The Honourable Gary Lunn, Minister of Natural Resources, and the Honourable John Baird, Minister of the Environment, today announced the appointment of Mr. Juergen Puetter as Chair of the Board of Sustainable Development Technology Canada (SDTC).

Juergen Puetter is President and CEO of Aeolis Wind Power Corporation, a leading wind energy company with project experience in Western Canada.

"We're pleased to appoint Mr. Puetter as Board Chair to help guide the activities of SDTC," said Minister Lunn. "SDTC plays a key role in our government's efforts to support new Canadian technologies that will help reduce greenhouse gas emissions."

"Our government is committed to taking real action on the environment," said Minister Baird. "By supporting the excellent work of SDTC, we're investing in Canadians' environmental future. I look forward to working with Mr. Puetter as he takes SDTC into the future."

Mr. Puetter will serve as Chair until December 10, 2012, fulfilling the five-year term of the late Mr. Stephen Probyn. The Government of Canada extends its condolences to the Probyn family and appreciates the great expertise Mr. Probyn brought to the position.

About Sustainable Development Technology Canada

SDTC is an arm's-length foundation that has received $1.05 billion as part of the Government of Canada's commitment to create a healthy environment and a high quality of life for all Canadians.

SDTC operates two funds aimed at the development and demonstration of innovative technological solutions. The $550-million SD Tech Fund™ supports projects that address climate change, air quality, clean water and clean soil. The $500-million NextGen Biofuels Fund™ supports the establishment of first-of-kind, large, demonstration-scale facilities for the production of next-generation renewable fuels.

SDTC operates as a not-for-profit corporation and works with the public and private sector - including industry, academia, non-governmental organizations (NGOs), the financial community and all levels of government - to achieve this mandate.


Juergen Puetter, President of Aeolis Wind Power Corporation of British Columbia, has been appointed Chair of the Board of Sustainable Development Technology Canada. The announcement was made by Natural Resources Minister Gary Lunn and Environment Minister John Baird. Sustainable Development Technology Canada uses federal funding to help develop renewable fuels and create a healthy environment for Canadians.

NRCan's news releases and backgrounders are available at

Contact Information

  • Media may contact:
    Natural Resources Canada - Ottawa
    Office of the Minister
    Bernadette Murphy
    A/Director of Communications
    Office of the Minister of the Environment
    Eric Richer
    Press Secretary
    Environment Canada Media Relations
    The general public may contact:
    Mon-Fri, 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. EDT
    TTY: 613-996-4397 (teletype for the hearing-impaired)