May 20, 2011 08:38 ET

NCPDP Announces Board Leadership, Results of 2011 Annual Conference

SCOTTSDALE, AZ--(Marketwire - May 20, 2011) - The National Council for Prescription Drug Programs (NCPDP) concluded its 2011 Annual Technology and Business Conference this week, boasting record attendance and rallying its members and attendees -- representing retail and independent pharmacies, health plans, associations, software vendors, manufacturers, wholesale distributors, and others -- in support of the end-to-end transformation of the healthcare system. According to NCPDP President, Lee Ann Stember, "We're making a real difference in improving the quality and efficiency of the healthcare industry -- from real-time pharmacy claims adjudication to ePrescribing, we have mobilized industry through NCPDP to effect positive change."

"As all of healthcare must now engage the challenges of modernization, our experience, our success and our model of collaborative standards development positions us as leaders in the transformation," continued Stember.

NCPDP's 2011 Annual Conference featured comprehensive educational sessions, networking opportunities and more. World-renowned lawyer, writer and entertainer, Ben Stein, delivered a rousing keynote presentation to a standing-room only audience, bringing his signature blend of wit, knowledge, personality and celebrity to the event.

During the conference, NCPDP revealed election results for its Board of Trustees and recipients of top industry awards:

Election Results

  • Newly elected Board Members include: Russell B. Keith (Rusty), Vice President, Pharmacy Customer Relations, Surescripts, and Charlie Oltman, MBA, CHC, Government Programs and Standards Compliance Manager, Target Corporation.
  • Perry Lewis, Assistant Vice President, PBM Relations, McKesson AccessHealth, was re-elected to the Board of Trustees for another term.
  • Board of Trustees already serving include: James P. Andrews, R.Ph. (Jim), Cypress Care, Inc., Bob Beckley, LDM Group, Dale A. Chamberlain, Gateway Pharmacy Consulting, LLC, Michele Davidson, R.Ph., Walgreen Co., Annette Gabel, Medco Health Solutions, Inc., Alan K. Gardner, MBA, RxResults, LLC, John Lavin, MBA, MPH, CVS Caremark, Frank McKinney, Frank McKinney Group, LLC, Nancy J. Nemes, CatalystRx, Scott M. Robertson, PharmD, Kaiser Permanente, Laura Topor, RxEOB, and Darren K. Townzen, R.Ph., MBA, Wal-Mart Stores, Inc.
  • Annette Gabel was appointed Chair and Charlie Oltman was appointed Vice-Chair of the Board of Trustees.
  • Outgoing Board members include: Thomas R. Bizzaro, R.Ph., First DataBank, and Thomas J. Sheehan III, MBA (TJ), IMS Health.

Award Recipients

  • NCPDP named Dale A. Chamberlain of Gateway Pharmacy Consulting, LLC as recipient of its prestigious TIME (The Individual Member Excellence) Award.
  • Charlie Oltman, MBA, CHC of Target Corporation was presented the Benjamin D. Ward Distinguished Member Award.
  • Shelly Renkvish-Abo of AmerisourceBergen Corporation, received the Rising Star Award.

For more information on NCPDP, visit

The NCPDP 2012 Annual Technology and Business Conference will be held May 6-10, 2012 at the Arizona Biltmore Resort and Spa in Phoenix.

Founded in 1977, NCPDP is a not-for-profit, ANSI-accredited, Standards Development Organization with over 1,600 members representing virtually every sector of the pharmacy services industry. Our diverse membership provides leadership and healthcare business solutions through education and standards, created using the consensus building process. NCPDP has been named in federal legislation, including HIPAA, MMA, and HITECH. NCPDP members have created standards such as the Telecommunication Standard and Batch Standard, the SCRIPT Standard for e-Prescribing, the Manufacturers Rebate Standard and more to improve communication within the pharmacy industry. Our data services include the NCPDP Provider Identification Number, a unique identifier of over 75,000 pharmacies, and HCIdea, "The Prescriber Identity Solution." NCPDP's RxReconn™ is a legislative tracking product for real-time monitoring of pharmacy-related state and national legislative and regulatory activity. For more information about NCPDP Standards, Data Services, Products, Educational Programs and Work Group meetings, go online at or call (480) 477-1000.

Contact Information

    Janet Cabibbo
    Amendola Communications for NCPDP
    480-664-8412 ext. 15
    Email Contact