May 25, 2016 06:00 ET

NCSBN Award Ceremony to Honor Outstanding Nurse Regulators

CHICAGO, IL--(Marketwired - May 25, 2016) -  The National Council of State Boards of Nursing Inc. (NCSBN®),, will recognize dedicated and exceptional membership and guests at its annual awards ceremony during the NCSBN Annual Meeting and Delegate Assembly, held in Chicago, Aug. 17-19, 2016.

Specific award recipients include:

Julia L. George, MSN, RN, FRE, executive director, North Carolina Board of Nursing, will be honored with the prestigious R. Louise McManus Award. Individuals receiving this award have made sustained and significant contributions through the highest commitment and dedication to the mission and vision of NCSBN.

Lori Scheidt, MBA-HCM, executive director, Missouri State Board of Nursing, will receive the Meritorious Service Award, which is granted to a member for significant contributions to the mission and vision of NCSBN.

Susan Odom, PhD, RN, CCRN, FRE, board president, Idaho Board of Nursing, will receive the Elaine Ellibee Award that is granted to a member who has served as a board president within the past two years and who has made significant contributions to NCSBN.

Rene Cronquist, RN, JD, board staff, Minnesota Board of Nursing and Rhonda Taylor, MSN, RN, board member, Washington State Nursing Care Quality Assurance Commission, will each receive the Exceptional Contribution Award, which is given for significant contribution by a member who is not a president or executive officer.

West Virginia State Board of Examiners for Licensed Practical Nurses will be awarded the Regulatory Achievement Award that recognizes the member board or associate member that has made an identifiable, significant contribution to the mission and vision of NCSBN in promoting public policy related to the safe and effective practice of nursing in the interest of public welfare.

In addition, service awards will be given to the following executive officers of BONs:

Five Years
Marlene Carbullido, RN, executive officer, Guam Board of Nurse Examiners
Nancy Murphy, MS, RN, BC, CPM, administrator, South Carolina Board of Nursing
Dan Williams, bureau director, Division of Board Services, Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services
Gaynell Hayward-Caesar, MPH, RN, BSN, chief nursing officer, Bermuda Nursing Council
Kwek Puay Ee, executive secretary, Singapore Nursing Board

10 Years
Michele L. Bromberg, MSN, RN, nursing coordinator, Illinois Board of Nursing

15 Years
Lori Scheidt, MBA-HCM, executive director, Missouri State Board of Nursing
Lanette Anderson, JD, MSN, RN, executive director, West Virginia State Board of Examiners for Licensed Practical Nurses

20 Years
Sandra Evans, MAEd, RN, executive director, Idaho Board of Nursing

The College and Association of Registered Nurses of Alberta, NCSBN Associate Member, is celebrating 100 years of nursing regulation in 2016.

Founded March 15, 1978, as an independent not-for-profit organization, NCSBN was created to lessen the burdens of state governments and bring together boards of nursing (BONs) to act and counsel together on matters of common interest. NCSBN's membership is comprised of the BONs in the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and four U.S. territories -- American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands and the Virgin Islands. There are also 24 associate members that are either nursing regulatory bodies or empowered regulatory authorities from other countries or territories.

NCSBN Member Boards protect the public by ensuring that safe and competent nursing care is provided by licensed nurses. These BONs regulate more than 4.5 million licensed nurses.

Mission: NCSBN provides education, service and research through collaborative leadership to promote evidence-based regulatory excellence for patient safety and public protection.

The statements and opinions expressed are those of NCSBN and not the individual member state or territorial boards of nursing.

National Council of State Boards of Nursing, Inc.
111 E. Wacker Drive, Suite 2900
Chicago, IL 60601-4277

Contact Information

  • Contact:
    Dawn M. Kappel
    Director, Marketing and Communications
    312.525.3667 direct
    312.279.1034 fax
    Email Contact