August 27, 2015 06:00 ET

NCSBN Elected New Members to Its Board of Directors at the 2015 Delegate Assembly

CHICAGO, IL--(Marketwired - Aug 27, 2015) - The National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN®),, elected new members to its Board of Directors (BOD) during its 2015 Delegate Assembly. Those elected include:

Joe Baker, Jr., executive director, Florida Board of Nursing, was elected treasurer after having served as director-at-large from 2012-2015. He previously served on the NCSBN Nursing Education Committee from 2011-2012. Baker has worked as the executive director for numerous regulatory boards since June 1995, both with the Florida Department of Business & Professional Regulation and the Florida Department of Health.

Area I Director
Suellyn Masek, MSN, RN, CNOR, board member, Washington State Nursing Care Quality Assurance Commission was elected area I director. She previously served on the NCSBN Leadership Succession Committee from 2011-2013.

Area II Director
Adrian Guerrero, CPM, director of operations, Kansas State Board of Nursing was elected Area II director. He previously served as chair of the Nursys® Committee and a member of both the Fraud Detection Committee and the Nursys® Advisory Panel.

Area III Director
Jim Cleghorn, MA, executive officer, Georgia Board of Nursing, was elected Area III director after having been appointed in 2014 to fill that position. He was previously a member of the Commitment to Ongoing Regulatory Excellence (CORE) Committee from 2012 through 2014.

Area IV Director
Ellen Watson, MS, APRN, FNP-BC, board member, Vermont State Board of Nursing was elected area IV director. She previously served on the NCSBN APRN and the NCSBN Leadership Academy Committees.

Nathan Goldman, JD, board staff, Kentucky Board of Nursing, was reelected for a second term as director-at-large. He previously served as the chair of the NCSBN Bylaws and Model Act and Rules Committees.

Karen Scipio-Skinner, MSN, RN, executive officer, District of Columbia Board of Nursing was elected director-at-large. She previously chaired NCSBN's Executive Officers Network and served as member of NCSBN's Commitment to Ongoing Regulatory Excellence Committee and the Awards Committee.

NCSBN delegates also elected members of the Leadership Succession Committee (LSC):
Tony Graham, MS, CPM, board staff, North Carolina Board of Nursing re-elected;
Tracy Rude, commissioner, Washington State Nursing Care Quality Assurance Commission; and
Jane Christianson, APRN, board member, North Dakota Board of Nursing.

Founded March 15, 1978, as an independent not-for-profit organization, NCSBN was created to lessen the burdens of state governments and bring together boards of nursing (BONs) to act and counsel together on matters of common interest. NCSBN's membership is comprised of the BONs in the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and four U.S. territories -- American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands and the Virgin Islands. There are also 24 associate members that are either nursing regulatory bodies or empowered regulatory authorities from other countries or territories.

NCSBN Member Boards protect the public by ensuring that safe and competent nursing care is provided by licensed nurses. These BONs regulate more than 4.5 million licensed nurses.

Mission: NCSBN provides education, service and research through collaborative leadership to promote evidence-based regulatory excellence for patient safety and public protection.

National Council of State Boards of Nursing, Inc.
111 E. Wacker Drive, Suite 2900
Chicago, IL 60601-4277

Contact Information

  • Contact:
    Dawn M. Kappel
    Director, Marketing and Communications
    312.525.3667 direct
    312.279.1034 fax
    Email Contact