August 08, 2005 03:00 ET

NCSBN Elects New Board of Directors at Annual Meeting

CHICAGO, IL -- (MARKET WIRE) -- August 8, 2005 -- The National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) ( elected new members to its Board of Directors during its 2005 Delegate Assembly. Members representing the boards of nursing elected officers for a two-year term and two Directors-at-Large for one-year terms. Those elected include:

Area Directors

I. Rolf T. Olson, JD, Board Member, Oregon State Board of Nursing. Olson currently serves on NCSBN's Finance Committee. He is a former Board President of the Oregon State Board of Nursing and has served on the Oregon Nursing Leadership Council.

III. Martha Bursinger, RN, MSN, MEd, Executive Director, South Carolina Board of Nursing. Bursinger was a participant in the NCSBN's Institute of Regulatory Excellence and the Taxonomy of Error, Root Cause Analysis and Practice Responsibility (TERCAP) Committee work.


II. Mary Blubaugh, MSN, RN, Executive Director, Kansas State Board of Nursing. Blubaugh most recently served as Board Liaison to the Practice, Regulation and Education Committee for NCSBN. She also serves on the Kansas Organization of Nurse Leaders and the Kansas Society of Public Managers.

IV. Myra A. Broadway, JD, MS, RN, Executive Director, Maine State Board of Nursing. During her first term, Broadway served as Board Liaison to both the Examination and Commitment to Ongoing Regulatory Excellence Committees. Previously, she served as a Director-at-Large from 2000-2002 when she was Board Liaison to Commitment to Excellence and Model Rules Subcommittee Liaison.


Faith A. Fields, MSN, RN, Executive Director, Arkansas Board of Nursing. Fields is currently serving on NCSBN's Examination Committee. She also serves as the Secretary/Treasurer of the Nurse Licensure Compact Administrator's Group. She previously has served as Chair of both the Elections Committee and the Nursys® Advisory Panel.


Constance B. Kalanek, PhD, RN, Executive Director, North Dakota Board of Nursing. During her first term, Kalanek served as Board Liaison to the Commitment to Ongoing Regulatory Excellence Research Project. She previously served on the Resolutions Committee, Nurse Licensure Compact Administrators, Practice, Education and Regulation Task Force and Executive Officers Network. Additionally, she is a member of the North Dakota Nurse Leadership Council.

In addition, NCSBN members elected two of four Nominating Committee positions during the Delegate Assembly: from Area I, Mary E. Calkins, PhD, RN, Board Staff, Wyoming Board of Nursing; and from Area II, Lorinda Inman, Executive Director, Iowa Board of Nursing. NCSBN will elect its President, Vice President and Treasurer, two Directors-at-Large and two members to serve on the Nominating Committee in 2006, at NCSBN's its annual Delegate Assembly, in Salt Lake City, Utah.

The National Council of State Boards of Nursing, Inc. (NCSBN) is a not-for-profit organization whose membership comprises the boards of nursing in the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and five United States territories -- American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands.

Mission: The National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN), composed of Member Boards, provides leadership to advance regulatory excellence for public protection.

National Council of State Boards of Nursing, Inc.
111 E. Wacker Drive, Suite 2900
Chicago, IL 60601-4277

Contact Information

  • Contact:
    Dawn M. Kappel
    Director of Marketing and Communications
    312.525.3667 direct
    312.279.1032 fax