August 16, 2012 15:00 ET

NCSBN Elects New Members to Its Board of Directors During Its 2012 Delegate Assembly

CHICAGO, IL--(Marketwire - Aug 16, 2012) - The National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN®),, elected new members to its Board of Directors during its 2012 Delegate Assembly. Those elected include:

Myra A. Broadway, JD, MS, RN, executive director, Maine State Board of Nursing, was reelected president after having served her first term from 2010-2012. She was previously vice president from 2008-2010 and Area IV director from 2003-2007. During her tenure, Broadway was the board liaison to the Disciplinary Resources, Finance, Examination and Commitment to Ongoing Regulatory Excellence Committees and the Member Board Leadership Development Task Force. She also served as a director-at-large from 2000-2002 when she was board liaison to Commitment to Excellence and Model Rules Subcommittee. Broadway holds a JD from Franklin Pierce Law Center, an M.S.B.A. from Boston University, Metropolitan College, an M.S. from the University of Colorado and a B.S. from Hunter College in New York. Broadway served in the United States Air Force Nurse Corps on both active duty and in the Reserves, retiring as a colonel in 1998.

Vice President
Shirley Brekken, MS, RN, executive director, Minnesota Board of Nursing, was reelected vice president after having served her first term from 2010-2012. She previously served as Area II director from 1990-1992. She has served on 12 NCSBN committees/task forces as either chair or committee member. Brekken is a partner in several Minnesota efforts related to patient safety and advancing a "Just Culture" (Minnesota Alliance for Patient Safety); nursing excellence (Stratis Health Institute); nursing workforce (Minnesota Center for Nursing BOD, Minnesota Colleagues in Caring and Minnesota Health Education and Industry Partnership Steering Committees); technology (Governor's e-Licensing Steering Committee); and nursing leadership (Minnesota Organization of Leaders in Nursing).

Julia L. George, MSN, RN, FRE, executive director, North Carolina Board of Nursing, was reelected treasurer after having served in that office since 2011. She previously served as the Area III director from 2007-2011 and is a Fellow of the NCSBN Institute of Regulatory Excellence. George served on the NCSBN Resolutions Committee from 2002-2003 and the NCSBN Practice, Regulation & Education Committee from 2003-2004.

Joe Baker, Jr., executive director, Florida Board of Nursing, previously served on the NCSBN Nursing Education Committee from 2011-2012. Baker has worked as the executive director for numerous regulatory boards since June 1995, both with the Florida Department of Business & Professional Regulation and the Florida Department of Health. 

Gloria Damgaard, MS, RN, FRE, executive secretary, South Dakota Board of Nursing, previously served on the NCSBN Commitment to Ongoing Regulatory Excellence Committee from 2011-2012 and the NCSBN Resolutions Committee from 2005-2007. She served from 2006-2009 as chair of the National Licensure Compact Administrators. 

NCSBN delegates also elected members of the Leadership Succession Committee (LSC):
Area II Member
Lisa Emrich, MSN, RN, Ohio
Area III Member
Brenda McDougal, North Carolina
Area IV Member
Sue Petula, PhD, MSN, RN, NEA-BC, Pennsylvania

The National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) is a not-for-profit organization whose members include the boards of nursing in the 50 states, the District of Columbia and four U.S. territories -- American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands and the Virgin Islands. There are also 12 associate members.

Mission: NCSBN provides education, service and research through collaborative leadership to promote evidence-based regulatory excellence for patient safety and public protection.

The statements and opinions expressed are those of NCSBN and not the individual member state or territorial boards of nursing.

National Council of State Boards of Nursing, Inc.
111 E. Wacker Drive, Suite 2900
Chicago, IL 60601-4277

Contact Information

  • Contact:
    Dawn M. Kappel
    Director, Marketing and Communications
    312.525.3667 direct
    312.279.1034 fax
    Email Contact