SOURCE: The Hickok Belt Award

The Hickok Belt Award

July 08, 2014 07:15 ET

Nelson Cruz Selected as the Hickok Belt™ Award Winner for May 2014

ROCHESTER, NY--(Marketwired - Jul 8, 2014) -  Baltimore Orioles outfielder Nelson Cruz has been selected as the Hickok Belt Award winner for the month of May 2014. Voting was conducted by a select panel of members of the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association (NSSA). Cruz was selected based on his incredible performance throughout the month of May. For the month, Cruz batted .339, with 13 HRs, 27 RBI, and a .748 slugging percentage.

Other finalists for the month of May in order of how the NSSA voters ranked them included: Kevin Durant (basketball), Henrik Lundqvist (hockey), LeBron James (basketball), Mark Buerhle (baseball), Martin Kaymer (golf), Jeff Carter (hockey), Jimmie Johnson (auto racing), Stacie Lewis (golf), and Nico Rosberg (auto racing).

Cruz's selection as the Hickok Belt Award winner for May 2014 recognizes him as "the best of the best" in professional sports for the month and makes him the fifth candidate eligible to receive the 2014 overall award, joining previous 2014 monthly winners Kevin Durant, Carey Price, Tuukka Rask, and Bubba Watson.

Voting for the 2013 overall Hickok Belt Award winner is now completed. The winner will be announced in the coming weeks.

To learn more about the Hickok Belt Award and its rich history, please visit

Contact Information

  • News Media:
    For more information, contact
    Larry Kleehammer
    Email Contact