Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of BC

Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of BC

October 13, 2006 09:00 ET

New APEGBC President and Council Take APEGBC into 88th Year

VANCOUVER, BRITISH COLUMBIA--(CCNMatthews - Oct. 13, 2006) - The Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of B.C. (APEGBC) has elected a new President and Council for the 2006/2007 term. The election results are as follows:


Tim Smith, P.Geo. President Squamish, B.C.
Steve Graham, P.Eng.,
P.Geo., PhD Vice President Delta, B.C.
Bob Ito, P.Eng., PhD Past President Vancouver, B.C.

Councillors Elected for a 2-Year Term

Lindsay Bottomer, P.Geo. Councillor North Vancouver, B.C.
Emily Cheung, P.Eng. Councillor Prince George, B.C.
Guy Lemieux, P.Eng. Councillor Richmond, B.C.
Margaret Li, P.Eng., PhD Councillor Burnaby, B.C.
Kevin Turner, P.Eng. Councillor Kamloops, B.C.

Continuing Councillors

Janet Benjamin, P.Eng. Councillor North Vancouver, B.C.
Lee Failing, P.Eng. Councillor North Vancouver, B.C.
Jeff Holm, P.Eng. Councillor Kamloops, B.C.
Russ Kinghorn, P.Eng. Councillor Cranbrook, B.C.
Philippe Kruchten, P.Eng., PhD Councillor Vancouver, B.C.

Government Appointees

Roy Emperingham, MPA, CHRP Councillor Sidney, B.C.
Joan Hansen, OD Councillor Delta, B.C.
Marilyn Pattison, PhD Councillor Victoria, B.C.
Lawrence Woo, CA Councillor Vancouver, B.C.

Outgoing President, Bob Ito, P.Eng., PhD, will formally induct those candidates elected at the Association's 87th Annual General Meeting in Victoria, B.C. on Saturday Oct. 14, 2006. The election process, as prescribed by the Engineers and Geoscientists Act of BC, and work of APEGBC's Council allows the professions of engineering and geoscience to enjoy the privilege of self-regulation.

Founded in 1920, APEGBC is the regulatory and licensing body for the professions of engineering and geoscience. With over 23,000 members, APEGBC is one of the larger professional associations in BC and maintains high academic, experience and professional practice standards. APEGBC members deliver real world solutions to meet the technological and social challenges of the 21st century.

News Directors: A short biography of Tim Smith, P.Geo. is attached.

APEGBC's Incoming President Tim Smith, P.Geo.


Tim Smith, P.Geo. is an Professional Geoscientist with seventeen years consulting experience in slope hazard assessment, geotechnical investigations and risk analysis. He currently consults to the resource and transportation industries, government and engineering and legal firms in Canada, USA, Scotland and Australia.

Mr. Smith is registered as a P.Geo. in B.C., a P.Geol. in Alberta and a Licensed Engineering Geologist in the state of Washington.

Mr. Smith will be formally inducted as President of the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of B.C. (APEGBC) on Saturday Oct. 14, 2006 at the Association's 87th Annual General Meeting. Mr. Smith's previous positions with APEGBC include: Vice President of APEGBC's Council for the 2005/2006 term, Councillor, Chair of the Joint Practice Board for APEGBC and Association of BC Forest Professionals, Chair of the Division of Engineers and Geoscientists in the Forest Sector. His other professional association experience includes membership on the Strategic Planning Committee for Association of Engineering Geologists, participation as the APEGBC Representative for the Professional Reliance Action Team and past B.C. Director of the Canadian Council of Professional Geologists.

Mr. Smith received his Bachelors in Applied Geology from the University of New South Wales in 1987 and a Graduate Diploma in Advanced Forest Engineering from UBC in 2000.

Contact Information

    Andria Ink
    Communications Specialist
    (604) 412-4861 or Mobile: (604) 961-1813
    (604) 430-8085 (FAX)