Redistribution Federal Electoral Districts

Redistribution Federal Electoral Districts

November 01, 2012 13:54 ET

Notice of Additional Public Hearing in Sault Ste. Marie

TORONTO, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Nov. 1, 2012) - The Federal Electoral Boundaries Commission for Ontario has scheduled an additional public hearing in Sault Ste. Marie to engage citizens in a discussion on possible changes to the boundaries of federal electoral districts in the area.

In August, the commission published its proposal for a new electoral map for discussion at hearings this fall. Public feedback has led the commission to consider significant changes to the district of Sault Ste. Marie, which was to remain unchanged in its original proposal.

The commission is considering removing the following communities from the district of Sault Ste. Marie and adding them to the electoral district of Algoma-Manitoulin-Kapuskasing (formerly proposed as Algoma-Manitoulin-Killarney):

  • the geographic Township of Aberdeen

  • the townships of MacDonald, Meredith and Aberdeen Additional; Laird; Tarbutt and Tarbutt Additional; Johnson; Plummer Additional; St. Joseph; Hilton; and Jocelyn

  • the Town of Bruce Mines

  • the Village of Hilton Beach

"We want to give citizens who would be affected an opportunity to voice their views," said the Honourable Mr. Justice George Valin, chair of the commission. "The new hearing is a matter of ensuring full participation and transparency."

The public hearing will take place on November 19, 2012, at 9:30 a.m., at the Delta Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront Hotel, 208 St. Mary's River Drive, Thompson Suites A and B.

Everyone is invited to attend. You can also share your views with the commission by sending a written submission by e-mail to or by calling 1-855-747-7224.

To consult the original proposal or the changes being considered, visit

Contact Information

  • Federal Electoral Boundaries Commission for Ontario
    1-855-747-7224 (toll-free)