Canadian Petroleum Hall of Fame Society

Canadian Petroleum Hall of Fame Society

July 14, 2010 11:00 ET

Oil Sands Icon Eric Newell Among 2010 Petroleum Hall of Fame Inductees

CALGARY, ALBERTA--(Marketwire - July 14, 2010) - Leading oil sands figure Eric Newell is among four industry leaders to be inducted into the Canadian Petroleum Hall of Fame this September.

The Hall of Fame Society this week announced that the four will be officially inducted at the 14th annual gala dinner in Edmonton Sept. 23. Each year, the Society inducts up to six men and women, whose contributions to Canada's petroleum industry allow them to stand tall among their peers.

"It's a real challenge each year to select from all the great nominees whose names are put forward," noted Society chairman Bill Whitelaw. "Our selection committee has its work cut out, coming up with a slate of nominees to propose to the society's board of directors."

Joining Newell on the induction roster this year are Ronald Shannon, Robert Tessari and Peter Bawden.

Each year, the board's selection committee assesses the merits of each nominee based on contributions to the industry's successful evolution. Each inductee this year has contributed in a way that has significantly improved how the industry operates.

Robert Tessari made a lasting mark on the drilling industry with a series of innovations around portable top drives on land-based drilling rigs; he formed Tesco to bring the innovations to industry and helped significantly improve drilling efficiency. Ronald Shannon's management style and innovative operating practices made important changes in how service companies operate; in particular, he was a key builder of what is today Flint Energy Services. In 2004, Shannon founded Strike Energy Services, the start of another significant energy services company. Peter Bawden died in 1991, but many remember his contributions to the Canadian drilling industry and in turn, to the global petroleum sector. A former MP for Calgary South, Bawden was recognized as an officer of the Order of Canada in 1989. Eric Newell, who still continues to be active on the Canadian energy scene, was CEO of Syncrude from 1989 until 2003, and also served as president and chairman of the board. Since his retirement, Newell has served as chancellor of the University of Alberta and currently is chairman of the province's Climate Change and Emissions Management Corporation and Alberta Innovates: Energy and Environment Solutions.

"These men all left indelible marks on our industry; their personalities, drive and determination should serve as beacons to young men and women thinking about how to move their energy careers forward," noted Whitelaw. "In many ways, they have laid key parts of our industry's foundational structure." 

Full biographical profiles of each inductee will by published in the September edition of Oilweek magazine, Canada's Oil and Gas Authority. 

The induction dinner will be held at Edmonton's Delta Hotel, 4404 Gateway Blvd. NW. Ticket and table ordering information can obtained by calling 1.800.563.2946, ext. 256. or visit

Contact Information